Skip to main content

Jan Smuts Memorial Fund, 1950-10 - 1955-08

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 2/2/25

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and papers on the memorial fund, with correspondents including: John Rodgers [Secretary of the Smuts Memorial Committee] (13); Henry Willink, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge (3); James Butler [Regius Professor of Modern History, Cambridge] (2); G M Trevelyan (4); Sir Geoffrey Heyworth (4); Sir Roderick Jones (3); Sir Lionel Whitby, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge (4); 5th Lord Salisbury, Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations [earlier Lord Cranborne] (4); Winston Churchill [Leader of the Opposition, then Prime Minister] (5); Clement Attlee [Prime Minister, then Leader of the Opposition] (6); 1st Lord Tedder; Vincent Massey; Sydney Roberts, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge (3); 1st Lord Brand; Hugh Kindersley (2); 1st Lord Elton [General Secretary of the Rhodes Trust] (2); 4th Lord Harlech [earlier William Ormsby-Gore] (3); Sir Ernest Oppenheimer (3); Nicolas de Wet; 1st Lord Athlone; 1st Lord Kemsley [earlier Sir James Berry]; 1st Lord Camrose [earlier Sir William Berry]; Alan Don, Dean of Westminster; James Gray, [Editor] of South Africa magazine (2).

Also includes: texts in tribute to Smuts and for the Smuts Fund Presentation Book; reports and minutes of the Memorial Committee.


  • Creation: 1950-10 - 1955-08

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


2 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 324

Finding aid date

2004-09-29 17:01:32.390000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087