Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Correspondence A - Z, 1953-12 - 1955-01

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 2/1/50

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Cyril Alington (2); Sir Carleton Allen, congratulating LSA on a tribute to 1st Lord Milner; [Syed] Waris Ameer Ali; Sir Claude Auchinleck; Frank Aydelotte [former American Secretary to Rhodes Trustees] (2); 1st Lord Balfour of Inchrye, Chairman of the Empire Industries Association (2); Jacques Bardoux; Sir Ernest Barker (2); 2nd Lord Barnby [earlier (Francis) Vernon Willey]; Sir Harry Batterbee on the situation in New Zealand; Sir Alfred Beit; Princess Marthe Bibesco (6); John Biggs-Davison, Conservative Research Department, suggesting the publication of an address by LSA to the Empire teachers; Sir Alfred Bossom; Sir [Harold] Leslie Boyce; William Brittain [Chairman], Brittain Publishing Group; Manlio Brosio on his departure [as Italian Ambassador to Britain]; Lennox Broster on the Rhodes Scholar scheme; Ashley Brown on support for the IRA; Sir Arthur Bryant; [Leonard] David Gammans [Assistant Postmaster-General] on safeguarding the character of programmes broadcast by the Independent Television Authority; David Butler on "The New Macchiavelli" (2); Sir Nevile Butler on the Institut International des Civilisations Differentes (2); Dorothea, Lady Butterworth; Mary Carnegie [earlier Mary Chamberlain] (2); Violet Carruthers [Violet Markham] on writing about 1st Lord Milner (2); Alfred Chotzner; Colin Coote [Managing Editor of the Daily Telegraph and Morning Post] on LSA's memoirs; Owen Croft; Janet Ashbee on Elsa de Szasz (4); Ethel, Lady Dilke; Sir Reginald Dorman-Smith; Canon John Douglas; Lief Egeland on subjects including the death of 1st Lord Simon, the Rhodes Trust and the situation in South Africa (2); John Ehrman on his Official Military Histories of the Second World War, particularly the appointment of 1st Lord Mountbatten as Supreme Allied Commander, South East Asia and India's contribution to the war effort (2); Eliahu Elath [Israeli Ambassador to Britain]; Zehava Elath on sculpting LSA's head (2); Walter Elliot; Simon Elwes on painting LSA's portrait; [Eric] Gordon England on his ecological research foundation; Sir Geoffrey Faber on subjects including his impressions of Southern Rhodesia [later Zimbabwe] (2); Hope Ffennell; Lettice Fisher; Hugh Fraser; Charles Fry (5); Muriel Gamage; Albertus Geyer [South African High Commissioner in London] (2); Lord Dudley Gordon [later 3rd Lord Aberdeen and Temair]; Sir Lancelot Graham, Chairman of the Royal Empire Society; 1st Lord Hailey; [Andrew] Hamilton Gault; Sir Patrick Hannon; Vincent Harlow on subjects including finding a compromise to the dispute over the government of Cyprus (2); Stuart Helps, Chairman of the British South African League (5); Kathleen Hicks (3); Sir Alexander Grantham, Governor of Hong Kong; Eleanor Holland-Martin; Campbell Hone on LSA's tribute to 1st Lord Simon; 1st Lord Horder; Leslie Hore-Belisha on LSA's self-sacrifice; Sir Robert Ho Tung; Sir Godfrey Huggins [later 1st Lord Malvern], Prime Minister, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland [later Zambia, Zimbabwe and Malawi] commenting on setting up the Federal Parliament; Sir Archibald Hurd; John Ivimey; Sir Roderick Jones; Sir David Keir on his impressions of Malaya [later Malaysia]; Eric Kennington (2); 1st Lord Kilmuir [earlier David Maxwell Fyfe]; Meriel Knowling (4); Eileen Price-Davies; Alan Lennox-Boyd [Secretary of State for the Colonies, later 1st Lord Boyd of Merton] (2); Sir John Le Rougetel [British Commissioner in South Africa] on subjects including electing a new leader for the Nationalist Party; Basil Liddell Hart on the claim by T E Lawrence [Lawrence of Arabia] that he had been invited to become High Commissioner for Egypt (7); Winston Churchill (writing to Liddell Hart) on Lawrence; 2nd Lord Lloyd on becoming [Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies]; Oliver Lyttelton [Secretary of State for the Colonies, later 1st Lord Chandos] on LSA's proposals for Cyprus, the Potomac Charter and the future of Togoland [later Togo] (3); Maurice Macmillan, Macmillan and Company Limited; Niall Macpherson [later 1st Lord Drumalbyn] on the Australian Dried Fruits Board (2); Raja Sir Maharaj Singh (2); Sir Dougal Malcolm (2); Mar Shimun; Sir Ivor Maxse; Patrick Mayhew; Arthur Meighen; Sir Eugen Millington-Drake; Mary, Lady Mills on the death of Sir Frederick Mills (2); Violet, Lady Milner; Decima, Lady Moore-Guggisberg; Edmund Morris Miller; 5th Lord Munster [Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Colonial Office, earlier Geoffrey FitzClarence]; Bernard Myers; Sir Harold Nicolson; Frederick Northedge, Lecturer in International Relations, London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London (2); Sir Ernest Oppenheimer (3); Edgar Williams, Warden of Rhodes House, Oxford; Sir Arthur Page (2); Sir [Arthur] Cosmo Parkinson; Sir Geoffrey Peto; Paul Reynaud; Sir Bruce Richmond; [Ada] Edwina, 3rd Countess Roberts [earlier Lady Edwina Lewin]; Sir [Thomas] Ellis Robins; Alfred Ryan [Assistant Editor and Literary Editor of the Times] on the history of the Curragh Incident [over the imposition of Home Rule in Ireland, March 1914] (3); 1st Lord Samuel; Sir Douglas Savory; Sir Walford Selby; 2nd Lord Simon on LSA's defence of his father (2); [Arthur] Lionel Smith; Sir Waldron Smithers (2); Sir Ronald Storrs; 1st Lord Swinton [Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations, earlier Philip Lloyd-Greame, then Philip Cunliffe-Lister]; Jane, Lady Turner; Angela Thirkell; Marshal of the RAF 1st Lord Trenchard on LSA's view that during the war the RAF should have surrendered some of its bombers for airborne divisions instead; [William] Brian Tunstall, contributor to Cambridge History of the British Empire; Francis Turnbull; W H Turner (4); Georges Vanier; 1st Lord Vansittart on LSA's defence of 1st Lord Simon; [Hilda] Francesca Vellacott; Paul Vellacott, Master of Peterhouse, University of Cambridge (2); Sir Alliott Verdon-Roe; Sir Hereward Wake, asking LSA to defend the reputation of Field Marshal Sir Henry Wilson from attacks in the memoirs of General Sir Hubert Gough; Henry Walston; Sir Thomas White [High Commissioner for Australia, in London]; Sir Philip Wilbraham; Percival Witherby (8).

Also includes: index to all 1954 correspondents.


  • 1953-12 - 1955-01

Conditions Governing Access

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


4 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 237

Finding aid date

2004-08-04 16:08:18.687000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087

The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.