Skip to main content

Correspondence A - Z, 1923-01 - 1923-12

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 2/1/8

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Commander-in-Chief Atlantic Fleet [Vice-Admiral Sir John de Robeck], thanking LSA for his congratulatory message to the Fleet following its spring cruise; Lucy Baldwin; Stanley Baldwin, Prime Minister, on a disagreement between LSA and 1st Lord Curzon [Foreign Secretary]; Admiral of the Fleet 1st Lord Beatty [1st Sea Lord] on the Cabinet's refusal to allow the Navy control of its own air forces (2); Sir Arthur Griffith-Boscawen on opposition to him; Winston Churchill, thanking LSA for sending him telegrams relating to naval projects which Churchill had been responsible for, and advising him not to be intimidated by the press; Sir James Craig, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland [later 1st Lord Craigavon] on the Naval Reserve in Ulster; 2nd Lord Cromer, Lord Chamberlain [earlier Lord Errington]; Vice-Admiral Sir Michael Culme-Seymour; 1st Lord Curzon, asking LSA not to make a statement on foreign affairs and also on negotiations with Raymond Poincare [Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, France] over German war reparations, on negotiations with Turkey and also commenting on Vice-Admiral Sir Osmond Brock [Commander-in-Chief, Mediterranean Station] (5); Sir Charles Davis; 17th Lord Derby [earlier Lord Stanley] on disagreements between the Admiralty and the Cabinet over control of naval air forces, France's occupation of the Ruhr [Germany] over war reparations and his concerns about the League of Nations and Lord [Edgar] Robert Cecil [President of the League of Nations Union, later 1st Lord Cecil of Chelwood] (6); Sir Bertram Falle [later 1st Lord Portsea]; Francis Fisher; Sir [James] Percy Fitzpatrick (3); J L Garvin [Editor of the Observer] on the attitude of the press in the General Election [January 1924] (2); Nevile Henderson, acting British High Commissioner in Constantinople [later Istanbul, Turkey] on LSA's visit to Turkey, particularly to the Caliph; 1st Lord Islington [Chairman of the National Savings Committee, earlier John Dickson-Poynder], thanking LSA for his speech in support of National Savings; Andrew Bonar Law, Prime Minister; 1st Lord Lee of Fareham [former First Lord of the Admiralty] on subjects including two new warships being built (2); 2nd Lord Linlithgow [Civil Lord of the Admiralty, earlier Lord Hopetoun]; [William] Mackenzie King [Prime Minister of Canada]; Captain Herbert Meade [commander of the Naval College, Dartmouth (Devon), later Herbert Meade-Fetherstonhaugh] on LSA's visit to the college; Arthur Meighen on forthcoming Imperial Conferences and British responsibility for Canadian defence; Ugo Mifsud, Maltese Minister for Industry and Commerce, on an agreement between Malta and Australia over Maltese emigration; Sir Oswyn Murray [Permanent Secretary, Admiralty]; Sir Douglas Nicholson [Vice-Admiral commanding Reserve Fleet]; Francis Pember; 1st Lord Plumer [Governor and Commander-in-Chief, Malta], on Maltese gratitude to LSA for his support in their relations with Australia over emigration, and the role of the Mediterranean Fleet (2); Massimiliano Debono, President of the Malta Senate; 2nd Countess Roberts, sending LSA a copy of a prayer by 1st Lord Roberts; Jan Smuts [Prime Minister of South Africa]; Sir Richard Squires, Prime Minister of Newfoundland [later part of Canada]; 1st Lord Stamfordham [earlier Arthur Bigge]; Sir Fabian Ware, on LSA's good example in political life; 1st Lord Weir on a proposed Home Defence Air Force and LSA's suggestions for developing civil aviation; William Ormsby-Gore [Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies, later 4th Lord Harlech].


  • Creation: 1923-01 - 1923-12

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


1 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 128

Finding aid date

2004-04-28 13:35:40.090000+00:00


Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087