Skip to main content

Correspondence A - Z: congratulations on LSA's appointment to Privy Council in May 1922, 1922-05 - 1922-07

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 2/1/6

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: David Lloyd George, Prime Minister; Sir Almeric Fitzroy, Clerk of the Privy Council (2); Archibald Boyd-Carpenter; Sir William Allardyce; Sir James Allen, High Commissioner in London for New Zealand, also congratulating LSA on his Empire Migration Bill; Sir Alan Anderson; 1st Lord Ashfield [earlier Albert Stanley]; Cyril Ashford, Headmaster of the Naval College, Dartmouth [Devon]; Algernon Aspinall; Sir Vincent Baddeley; Sir Robert Baden-Powell; Sir John Baird; Stanley Baldwin; Sir Henry Buckingham; Sir James Barrett; Augustus Bartolo; Sir Otto Beit; Sir Henry Bax-Ironside; [William] Wedgwood Benn [later 1st Lord Stansgate]; Sir Henry Birchenough; General Sir William Birdwood; William Black [Deputy Minister of Immigration and Colonization, Canada]; Sir Rowland Blades [later 2nd Lord Ebbisham]; 1st Lord Blyth; Edgar Bonavia; Sir Arthur Griffith-Boscawen; Sir Thomas Bramsdon; Sir Charles Bright; Sir George Brown; Lord Burnham [earlier Harry Lawson]; 1st Lord Buxton; [?] Sir John Cadman; Sir Campbell Stuart; John Capper; Wilson Carlile, Founder and Chief Secretary of the Church Army; Sir Evelyn Cecil [later 1st Lord Rockley]; Sir John Chancellor; Sir Travers Clarke; [Ernest] Owen Clough; Sir Robert Clough; Sir Conyngham Greene; Sir Edwin Cornwall; Sir Joseph Cook; Sir Herbert Creedy; [William] Frederick O'Connor [British Envoy in Nepal] on the visit of the Prince of Wales [later King Edward VIII and Edward, Duke of Windsor] to Nepal; Sir Arthur Currie, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of McGill University, Montreal [Canada]; John Darling on subjects including the Imperial Treasury Bill; 1st Lord Dawson of Penn; Charles Davis [Assistant Under-Secretary of State for the Colonies]; Sir Howard d'Egville; Herbert Henson, Bishop of Durham; 1st Lord Emmott; John M'Whae, Agent-General for Victoria [Australia] in London; Sir Bertram Falle [later 1st Lord Portsea]; Sir Edward Stern; Raymond Ffennell; Rear-Admiral Frederick Field; Sir [John] Malcolm Fraser, Honorary Principal Agent of the Conservative Party; Moreton Frewen, on his concerns about Empire migration; Sir Harry Foster; Sir James Fortescue-Flannery; Sir Edward Garraway [Resident Commissioner for Basutoland, later Lesotho] on his difficulties with his superior [? Prince Arthur of Connaught, High Commissioner for South Africa]; 3rd Lord Gorell [earlier Ronald Gorell Barnes]; Sir Park Goff; Charles Goldman; James Grant; Sir Hamar Greenwood and Margery, Lady Greenwood; William Greenwood; Sir [Frederick] Gordon Guggisberg [Governor, Gold Coast, later Ghana]; Douglas Hacking; Patrick Hannon; [?] Herbert Heaton; Sydney Henning Belfrage; Sir Arthur Holbrook; Sir Aylmer Hunter-Weston; Albert Hyamson; 1st Lord Inchcape [earlier James Mackay]; Isaac Isaacs; Sir Henry Lambert; William Lang; Gerald Lascelles; 1st Lord Lee of Fareham [First Lord of the Admiralty]; Admiral Sir Arthur Leveson; Sir [Edward] Humphrey Leggett; Henry Lewin; Philip Lloyd-Greame [later Philip Cunliffe-Lister and 1st Lord Swinton]; 1st Lord Lambourne [earlier Amelius Wood and Amelius Lockwood]; Sir Sidney Low; Christopher Lowther; [William] Mackenzie King [Prime Minister of Canada]; Sir Halford Mackinder; Sir Donald Maclean, Chairman of the Liberal Parliamentary Party; Terence Macnaghten [Vice-Chairman of the Oversea Settlement Committee]; Marchese Alfred Mattei and Marchesa Teresa Mattei; Ugo Mifsud; Harcourt Malcolm; Sir Alfred Mond [later 1st Lord Melchett]; Sir Robert Muirhead Collins; Sir Oswyn Murray [Permanent Secretary, Admiralty]; Arthur Myers; Sir Henry Newbolt; Sir Francis Newdegate; Sir Robert Newman [later 1st Lord Mamhead]; Herbert Pike Pease [later 1st Lord Daryngton]; Sir Gilbert Parker; Sir George Parkin; Robert Peel, Governor and Commander-in-Chief, St Helena; Sir Ernest Pollock [later 1st Lord Hanworth]; 1st Lord Plumer [Governor and Commander-in-Chief, Malta]; General 1st Lord Rawlinson, Commander-in-Chief of the Army in India, on the lull in political agitation in India, due to the stronger line taken by the Government, and his forecast of war in Ireland; Sir Michelangelo Refalo, Chief Justice of Malta (2); 1st Lord Riddell; Sir William Ridgeway; Sir Cecil Hunter-Rodwell, Governor of Fiji; Christopher Roundell; Newton Rowell; Lord Sandon [later 6th Lord Harrowby]; Sir Robert Sanders [later 1st Lord Bayford]; Philip Sarell, on arrangements for the war memorial at Dunkirk [France]; Sir Fillipo Sceberras; Sir Edward Stern; Frances Stevenson [Frances Lloyd George, Private Secretary to David Lloyd George, Prime Minister], asking whether LSA still had notes from the wartime Secret Sessions in Parliament; [?] Gershom Stewart; George Terrell; [Thomas] Reginald Terrell; William Turner Perkins; Philip Waggett; Sydney Walton; Sir Joseph Walton; Leo Weinthal; Sir [William] Archibald Weigall; James Welldon, Dean of Durham; Sir William Beresford-Whyte; John Whitley; [Arthur] Basil Williams, Professor of History at McGill University, Montreal, Canada, commenting on LSA's proposed constitution for Malta; Herbert Williams; Sir Archibald Williamson [later 1st Lord Forres]; Sir Samuel Wilson [Governor and Commander-in-Chief, Trinidad and Tobago] on subjects including having to impose spending cuts in Trinidad; William Windham; Maurice Woods.


  • Creation: 1922-05 - 1922-07

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


2 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 124

Date information

DateText: The majority of folios date from June 1922.

Finding aid date

2004-04-23 14:59:38.357000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087