Skip to main content

Correspondence A - Z, 1922-01 - 1922-12

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 2/1/5

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Lord Burnham, commenting on LSA's work at the Overseas Settlement Committee; General 1st Lord Birdwood [General Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Northern Army in India], congratulating LSA on his Emigration Bill; 1st Lord Blyth; [Joseph] Austen Chamberlain [Leader of the Conservative Party] on the disagreements between himself and LSA over the break up of the Coalition Government (4); [Austen] Neville Chamberlain, congratulating LSA on becoming a Privy Councillor and hoping that he would become Secretary of State for the Colonies (2); Winston Churchill, congratulating LSA on becoming First Lord of the Admiralty but regretting the split between the Conservatives and Liberals, and expressing concern at plans for two new warships being cancelled (2); Sir James Craig [Prime Minister of Northern Ireland, later 1st Lord Craigavon] on the boundary question, and the anti-Ulster views of Michael Collins; Charles Craig; 1st Lord Curzon, Foreign Secretary, on his difficulties with Vice-Admiral Sir Roger Keyes [Deputy Chief of Naval Staff] over Keyes's "amateur diplomacy" with the Russians, and on relations with Turkey (5); Patrick Duncan, South African Minister of the Interior, despairing of Imperial foreign policy following British actions against Turkey, and the bad effect on Imperial interests in South Africa; Sir Harry Brittain; John Davies, Private Secretary to the Prime Minister; John Seely [later 1st Lord Mottistone]; 1st Lord Long; George Barnes; Sir Howard d'Egville, Secretary of the Empire Parliamentary Association; Sir Park Goff; Vice-Admiral Sir William Goodenough, thanking LSA for his sympathetic handling of the Navy; Sir [Frederick] Gordon Guggisberg, Governor of the Gold Coast [later Ghana]; Timothy Healy [Governor-General of the Irish Free State, later Ireland]; 1st Lord Hewart; Sir Robert Horne, Chancellor of the Exchequer, on his committee to reduce Civil Service Estimates, asking LSA to serve on a sub-committee on health services; William Hughes, Prime Minister of Australia, on Australian problems with Bolshevism and Sinn Fein, the hostility of the press, and the lack of emigrants to Australia; Richard Jebb congratulating LSA on his Empire Settlement Bill; Edmund Jowett, on the Empire Settlement Bill; Henry Lewin on subjects including the Geddes Report [on cuts in public spending], the Empire Settlement Bill, the murder of Field Marshal Sir Henry Wilson and LSA's tribute to him (6); 1st Lord Lee of Fareham [First Lord of the Admiralty], commenting on the Geddes Report and how to defend the Navy against cuts, and negotiations on the Naval Treaty with the United States; Sir George Lloyd [Governor of Bombay, India] on the political situation and restoring confidence in the Government of India, and the problems of the Indian Civil Service; David Lloyd George, on his resignation as Prime Minister, thanking LSA for his services; Edwin Montagu; Frederick Oliver on the state of the Government, warning LSA not to join the Cabinet (3); Field Marshal 1st Lord Plumer [Governor and Commander-in-Chief, Malta] on the Geddes Report; General 1st Lord Rawlinson, Commander-in-Chief of the Army in India, on LSA's proposals for a single Minister of Defence and Imperial General Staff to help unify the Army, Navy and Air Force; Sir Michelangelo Refalo, Chief Justice of Malta; Sir [Henry] Rider Haggard, congratulating LSA on his work for Empire migration; Jan Smuts, Prime Minister of South Africa, congratulating LSA on becoming First Lord of the Admiralty, commenting on the new British Government and his concerns about French policy, Palestine and Rhodesia [later Zambia and Zimbabwe]; 4th Lord Salisbury [Lord President of the Council, earlier Lord Cranborne] on his disagreement with LSA over defence; [John] Obed Smith; G M Trevelyan; Sydney Walton; Reginald Ward Poole (2); Leslie Wilson [Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip] (2); Cornelia, Lady Wimborne; Archibald Young; Sir George Younger, Chairman of the Conservative Party.


  • Creation: 1922-01 - 1922-12

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


1 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 123

Finding aid date

2004-04-22 13:35:22.247000+00:00


Cultural context



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087