Skip to main content

Letters on The Empire in the new Era, 1930-03 - 1930-07

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 1/5/7

Scope and Contents

Correspondence on LSA's book of collected speeches on the Empire, distributed to principal schools in Britain and the Dominions. Correspondents writing to acknowledge receipt of the book, include: William Vaughan, Headmaster of Rugby School [Warwickshire]; Alwyn Williams, Headmaster of Winchester College [Hampshire]; Robert Routh, Headmaster of Bromsgrove School, Worcestershire; Joseph Barton, Headmaster of Bristol Grammar School; Harold Sawyer, Headmaster of Shrewsbury School [Shropshire]; Henry Hardy, Headmaster of Cheltenham College [Gloucestershire]; Frank Stephenson, Headmaster, Felsted School, Essex; William Cavill, Headmaster of Hymers College, Hull [Yorkshire]; Cyril Alington, Headmaster of Eton College [Berkshire]; James Eccles, Headmaster of Gresham’s School, Norfolk; John Roxburgh, Headmaster of Stowe School, Buckinghamshire; Spencer Leeson, Headmaster of Merchant Taylors’ School, London; Harold Costley-White, Headmaster of Westminster School, London; [William Ferguson], Warden of Radley College, Berkshire; [Herbert] Lionel Rogers, Headmaster of King's College School, London; Terry Thomas, Headmaster, Leeds Grammar School [Yorkshire]; Cuthbert Blakiston, Headmaster of Lancing College, Sussex; David Somervell [Assistant Master at Tonbridge School, Kent]; Eric Kempson, Headmaster of Royal Naval College, Dartmouth [Devon]; Graham Smith, Headmaster, Sedbergh School [Yorkshire]; Kenneth Fisher, Headmaster, Oundle School, Northamptonshire; Robert Howard, Headmaster of Liverpool College; Charles Boughey, Headmaster of Sherborne School, Dorset; Frederick Matheson, Warden of Trinity College, Glenalmond [Perthshire, Scotland]; Edwin England, Headmaster of King Edward’s School, Birmingham; Eric Whitworth, Headmaster of Bradfield College, Berkshire; Edward Owen, Principal of King William’s College, Isle of Man; Edward Beckwith, Headmaster of the Imperial Service College, Windsor; Norman Whatley, Headmaster of Clifton College [Bristol]; Henry Abel, Headmaster of St Olave’s School, London; Herbert Ralph, Headmaster of Plymouth College [Devon]; Frank Preston, Headmaster of Malvern College [Worcestershire]; Emmeline Tanner, Headmistress of Roedean School [Sussex]; George Turner, Master of Marlborough College, Wiltshire; John Bell, High Master of St Paul’s School, London; Beatrice Sparks, Principal of Cheltenham Ladies’ College; Donald Macdonald, Headmaster of St Andrew’s College, Aurora [Ottawa, Canada]; John Paton, President of Memorial University College, St John’s, Newfoundland [later part of Canada]; Harold Mahon, Headmaster of Auckland Grammar School [New Zealand]; Kenneth Bickersteth, Headmaster of St Peter’s College, Adelaide [Australia]; Herbert Dettman, Headmaster of Sydney Grammar School; Lawrence Adamson, Headmaster of Wesley College, Melbourne; William Littlejohn, Principal of Scotch College, Melbourne.


  • 1930-03 - 1930-07

Conditions Governing Access

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


1 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 144

Date information

DateText: The majority of folios date from May 1930.

Finding aid date

2003-09-15 16:44:12.483000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087