Skip to main content

General correspondence, 1966-03 - 1966-05

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEJ 2/1/47

Scope and Contents

Correspondents (many commiserating with JA on the loss of his Parliamentary seat at Preston [Lancashire]) include: Augustus Agar on the Government's policy on Rhodesia [later Zimbabwe]; Florence Amery; 1st Lord Balfour of Inchrye; Erik Bennett; Humphry Berkeley; Sir Cyril Black; 1st Lord Blakenham [earlier John Hare]; 1st Lord Boyd of Merton [earlier Alan Lennox-Boyd] (3); John Boyd-Carpenter (2); Bernard Braine; Edward du Cann, Chairman of the Conservative Party; [Leonard] Robert Carr; 6th Lord Carrington; [Henry] Paul Channon [later Lord Kelvedon]; Randolph Churchill; Sir Alexander Douglas-Home [earlier 14th Lord Home, later Lord Home of the Hirsel]; Paul Emrys-Evans (2); Allen Fairhall, Australian Minister for Defence, on subjects including the rising costs of the F-111A tactical strike aircraft, Australian opinion on Vietnam, the British Government's defence cuts and withdrawal from Asia and policy on Rhodesia [later Zimbabwe] (2); Basil de Ferranti; Nigel Fisher (3); Sir Dingle Foot; Hugh Fraser (2); Sir Thomas Galbraith; Philip Goodhart; Victor Goodhew; Laurence Grand; Alan Hare; Stephen Hastings; Richard Hayward, Secretary General, Civil Service National Whitley Council (Staff Side) on Civil Service pensions; Edward Heath [leader of the Conservative Party]; Sir [Thomas] Clyde Hewlett; Quintin Hogg [earlier 2nd Lord Hailsham, later Lord Hailsham of Saint Marylebone]; Dame [Margaret] Patricia Hornsby-Smith; Sir Edward Hulton; Aharon Remez, Israeli Ambassador to Britain; Roy Jenkins; Sir Keith Joseph; George Thomson, Minister of State, Foreign Office; Geoffrey Lloyd; John Selwyn-Lloyd; Admiral Sir [John] David Luce; Maurice Macmillan; [Maurice] Harold Macmillan [later 1st Lord Stockton]; Patrick Maitland [later 17th Lord Lauderdale]; [Stephen] Lynch Maydon; H Neil Marten; Angus Maude; Neil McLean; [Alexander] Victor Montagu [earlier Lord Hinchingbrooke and 10th Lord Sandwich]; Anthony Montague Browne; Sir Charles Mott-Radclyffe; Airey Neave; Sir Hugh Greene, Director-General of the BBC, on allegations that the BBC broadcast an old film of a fire in Bulawayo as film of current disturbances in Rhodesia [later Zimbabwe]; Sir Godfrey Nicholson; Sir [Charles] Ian Orr-Ewing; Reginald Paget; Sir Kenneth Pickthorn; [John] Enoch Powell (2); John Profumo; [Aubrey] Geoffrey Rippon (2); Sir Joshua Rowley (2); Anthony Royle [later Lord Fanshawe of Richmond] (2); Sir Ronald Russell; Duncan Sandys; [George] Hugh Seton-Watson; [Arthur] Christopher Soames; Harold Soref; Richard Branson, Editor of Student magazine; William van Straubenzee; [George] Peter Thorneycroft; Sir Francis Tuker on the Government's policy on Rhodesia; Robert Turton [later Lord Tranmire], Chairman of the Commonwealth Industries Association; Sir John Vaughan-Morgan [later Lord Reigate]; [John] Adam Watson, British Ambassador to Cuba; Samuel Watson (2); William Whitelaw, Chief Opposition Whip; Charles Wintour, Editor of the Evening Standard on a memorial event for the cartoonist Vicky [Victor Weisz]; Richard Wood [later Lord Holderness]; Mark Woodnutt on imports of machine tools; Woodrow Wyatt (2).

Also includes: extracts from inflammatory broadcasts heard in Rhodesia from Radio Zambia; memorandum by Sir Rupert Bromley on Rhodesia; copy of a questionnaire by Air Commodore George Heycock, former Air Attaché, Paris [France] on Anglo-French air collaboration.


  • Creation: 1966-03 - 1966-05


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The majority of the papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge, though the constituency papers and some of the correspondence and political papers remain closed.


4 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 108

Finding aid date

2012-05-23 15:26:48.720000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087