Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: Correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, R - S., 21 Aug 1950 - 17 Dec 1952

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/72A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: representatives of Woodford Conservative Association including Sir James Hawkey, Chairman, on subjects including the rebuilding of a local school (14), W Hubert Barlow-Wheeler, Honorary Secretary and Agent (14) and "Kath", Kathleen Kemp, Secretary to the Agent (4); M E Blackman, Assistant Private Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries (7); Bernard Atha, Education Officer, RAF Chigwell [Essex] (3); Gordon Wilson, Assistant Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War; John Parkin, Assistant Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War (2); Arthur Bavin, Private Secretary to the Minister of Health (2); [David] Colin Humphreys, Private Secretary, Air Ministry (3); E B H Baker, Private Secretary to the Minister of Education (4); Frank Darvall, Director-General, The English-Speaking Union; William Penniall, Secretary, Royal Wanstead School [Essex] (4); 6th Lord Kilmaine [earlier John Browne], Secretary, The Pilgrim Trust; John Hudson, Ministry of Education (4); Bernard Lawrence, Chief Education Officer for Essex; J M Gooby, Honorary Secretary, Roding Valley [Essex] Residents' Association, on the school shortage (5); Peter Hudson, Assistant Private Secretary to the Minister of Transport; Stuart Gilbert, Private Secretary, Ministry of Local Government and Planning (2); Michael Hobkirk, Private Secretary, War Office; Thomas Caulcott, Assistant Principal, War Damage Commission (2); Jack Baldry, Principal Private Secretary to the Postmaster General; W Stevens, constituent (4); John Marshall, Private Secretary, Treasury; John Goldsmith, Principal Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War; J C Sudders, Wholesale Fish and Potato Merchant, on a fish-handling strike (4). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence by Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], "N S" [Jo Sturdee, later Lady Onslow], Monica Graham and E J Sayers, WSC's secretaries, and Peter Oates and David Hunt, WSC's Private Secretaries.Other subjects include: requests for tickets for the House of Commons; invitations for WSC; the grading of hospital staff; housing enquiries, including the de-requisitioning of property by the council; local schools, including education grants, rebuilding and overcrowding; exemption from military reservist training; rent restrictions; land development legislation; an amnesty for wartime deserters; private building licenses; civil and war pension enquiries.Also includes: a report on schools in the Wanstead and Woodford area.


  • Creation: 21 Aug 1950 - 17 Dec 1952

Conditions Governing Access

Open, except for folios 70 - 72, 90 - 91 and 330 - 336, closed for 75 years until 2028 on data protection grounds, due to the presence of sensitive and personal information on potentially living individuals.


2 file(s) (2 files (474 loose folios))

Language of Materials