Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: Correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, A - Z., 14 May 1948 - 30 May 1951

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/58A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Percy Cohen, [Joint Director] Conservative Research Department (10); representatives of Woodford Conservative Association including "Fred" [Frederick Mummery, Honorary Secretary and Agent] (9), Sir James Hawkey, Chairman (2) and "Kath" [Kathleen Kemp, Secretary to the Agent] (7); David Perry, Wanstead and Woodford Housing Manager (5); J W Faulkner, Clerk of Chigwell [Essex] Urban District Council (4); John Moss, Private Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries; Cyril Walker, Director of Housing and Valuer, London County Council (2); L A Furze, constituent (6); Derek Stephen, Assistant Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War (2); P W Elliott, constituent (4); Anthony Phelps, Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer (3); Kenneth Malcolm, Private Secretary to the Minister of National Insurance; M I Baker, Assistant Private Secretary to the Postmaster General (5); Sir Anthony Pickford, Town Clerk, Corporation of London; James Pearson, constituent, on war damage claims for trade with Burma (7); L Edwards, County Organiser, People's Dispensary for Sick Animals (4); Tufton Beamish, MP for [Lewes, Sussex, later Lord Chelwood]; Thomas Shearer, Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Air (6); Jean Nunn, Private Secretary to the Home Secretary; Eric Stretten, constituent (6); [?] Leslie Murphy, Private Secretary to the Minister of Fuel and Power (2); W A Braine, Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, Wanstead and Woodford Air Training Corps (4); L A Knight, Honorary Secretary, Wanstead and Woodford Chamber of Commerce. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence by "N S" [Jo Sturdee, later Lady Onslow], Lorna Cowper and Monica Graham, WSC's secretaries.Other subjects include: teachers' pay; housing, pension and taxation enquiries; an extension for the local sewage works; agricultural loans; war damage claims; postal rates and service; grazing rights in Epping Forest [Essex]; greyhound betting tax; nurses' pay; policing the local area; the telephone service.Also includes: leaflets on agricultural mortgages, the Borough Extension bills, the British Motor Racing Trust and teachers' pay; a petition against grazing in Epping Forest; a memorandum on a claim by the National Association of Postal and Telegraph Officers for official recognition; a reprint of an article in the Pharmaceutical Journal on taxing medicines.


  • 14 May 1948 - 30 May 1951

Conditions Governing Access

Open, except for folios 331 - 333, closed for 75 years until 2026 on grounds of data protection due to presence of sensitive and personal information about a potentially living individual.


2 file(s) (2 files (403 loose folios))

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.