Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, A-G., Mar 1948 - May 1949

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/49

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Lena Prescott, Private Secretary, Ministry of Health (4); [David] Nenk, Ministry of Education; J T Williams, Private Secretary, War Damage Commission (5); Frederick Mummery, Honorary Secretary and Agent, Woodford Conservative Association (7); [Patrick] Kinna, Foreign Office (2); ?[Humphrey] Penderell Bright; Percy Cohen [Joint Director] and Iain MacLeod of the Conservative Research Department; Leah Manning; J P C Seale, Private Secretary, Air Ministry (3); Tom Driberg [later Lord Bradwell]; 1st Lord Citrine, Chairman, British Electricity Authority. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Penelope Wall, Monica Graham, and Lorna Cowper.Subjects covered by the file include: appeals and complaints by constituents in a variety of areas, including housing and land development, schools, war damaged property, employment, trading, pensions, voting, health, travel, and telephone provision; a request for House of Commons tickets; requests for WSC to support or attend local organisations and events; comments by constituents on various national and international issues, including the health service, divorce law, the case of Cardinal Primate of Hungary Cardinal Mindszenty, and the Civil Service Superannuation Bill; requests for WSC's help in obtaining work; messages of support for WSC.Also includes: Ashton Playing Fields and Youth Centre [Essex] annual report 1948; material from the British Drama League including a circular letter from Chairman Geoffrey Whitworth; Superannuation Joint Committee material and Conservative Research Department advice on enquiries about the Bill; Essex County Cricket Club material; extract from a letter by R A Butler on land development; Hansard extracts of debate on school fares; circular letter from President the 10th Duke of Beaufort [earlier Lord Worcester] and Chairman 11th Lord Middleton [earlier Michael Willoughby] British Field Sports Society.


  • Creation: Mar 1948 - May 1949

Conditions Governing Access

Open (folios 250-8 opened in 2022).


1 item(s) (1 file (258 loose folios))

Language of Materials