Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Political: correspondence on by-elections., Aug 1946 - Feb 1949

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/14A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Victor Warren; Sir Arthur Young [Scottish Unionist Whip] (5); Patrick Buchan-Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Conservative Chief Whip from 1948] (6); Anthony Fell; David Gammans; Richard Casey [President, Liberal Party of Australia]; John Smyth; Sir James Dunn; 1st Lord Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis], Chairman, Conservative and Unionist Central Office (5); Christopher Soames (3); Frederic Harris; James Thomas [later 1st Lord Cilcennin], Vice-Chairman of Conservative and Unionist Party (3); John Bevins; James Stuart [Chief Opposition Whip until 1948]; ?[Charles] William Forbes; Thomas Galbraith; George Odey; Stephen Pierssene, General Director, Conservative and Unionist Central Office; Lawrence Turner; Priscilla, Lady Grant [later Lady Tweedsmuir]; [Joseph] Gurney Braithwaite (3); various other representatives of Conservative Central Office (28). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow], Elizabeth Gilliatt, Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], Anne Hipwell, and Chips Gemmell; and messages of support from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to John Lockwood, Charles McFarlane, Malcolm McCorquodale, Tom Howard, William Scott, George Walker, Enoch Powell, Frederick Burden, Walter Elliot, and James Greenwood.Subjects include: matters concerning the by-elections at Aberdare [Glamorgan, Wales], Armagh [Ulster, Ireland], Battersea [London], Bexley [Kent], Bridgeton [Glasgow, Scotland], Brigg [Lincolnshire], Camlachie [Glasgow], North Croydon [Surrey], Edge Hill [Liverpool], East Edinburgh [Scotland], Edmonton [London], Falkirk [Stirlingshire, Scotland], Gorbals [Glasgow], Gravesend [Kent], Hillhead [Glasgow], Howdenshire [Yorkshire], West Islington [London], Jarrow [Durham], Kilmarnock [Ayrshire, Scotland], Normanton [Yorkshire], Paddington North [London], Paisley [Renfrewshire, Scotland], Pontypool [Monmouthshire, Wales], Rotherhithe [London], South Aberdeen [Scotland], Scottish Universities, Southwark [London], and Wigan [Lancashire]; criticism of the Labour government over issues such as steel nationalisation, the cost of living, housing, and food rationing.Also includes: North Croydon, Edge Hill and Paisley material including reports by Gammans and leaflets for Harris, Air Vice-Marshal Donald Bennett, Harold Nicolson, and John MacCormick.


  • Creation: Aug 1946 - Feb 1949

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 files (343 loose folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087