Skip to main content

Official: War Cabinet: Demobilisation Committee: minutes., 31 Oct 1918 - 20 Dec 1918

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 27/49

Scope and Contents

Includes draft and final copies of minutes of statements made by: General Jan Smuts; Austen Chamberlain; George Barnes; [Sir] Edwin Montagu; Christopher Addison [Minister in Charge of Reconstruction]; George Roberts, Minister of Labour; Sir Stephenson Kent [Controller-General of Civil Demobilisation and Resettlement] and Sir David Shackleton [Permanent Secretary Ministry of Labour]. Subjects discussed include: the organisation and accommodation of government offices; the regulation of war workers and women wishing to continue working; unemployment and labour exchanges; resettlement and repatriation of workers; transport and building controls.


  • Creation: 31 Oct 1918 - 20 Dec 1918

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (48 folios))

Language of Materials


Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087