Skip to main content

The Macclesfield Collection

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9597

Scope and Contents

The Macclesfield Collection principally comprises the archives of John Collins (1625-1683) and William Jones (1675-1749). As well as being mathematicians in their own right, both men corresponded with leading scientific figures of their day and so the collection includes autograph material by Isaac Newton, Edmond Halley, Henry Briggs, Roger Cotes, Henry Oldenburg and Robert Hooke.


  • Creation: 1600-1800


Conditions Governing Access

Due to the fragile nature of the material access to the collection is restricted. It is available to view in the Cambridge University Digital Library at


49 archive box(es) (49 boxes paper) : paper

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition

William Jones was tutor to the Parker family, the Earls of Macclesfield, and both his own papers and those he had inherited from John Collins remained in library at Shirburn Castle until 1999 when they were bought through Sotheby's by Cambridge University Library.

Related Materials

Other Newton manuscripts are in the Portsmouth Collection (Add.3958-4007). 3 further scientific notebooks missed from the Macclesfield sale and presented afterwards by the Earl and Countess of Macclesfield are at MS Add.9776.

Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom