Skip to main content

Diophantus - Mathematics and Music, c 1650-c 1750

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9597/18/11
Diophantus - Mathematics and Music
Diophantus - Mathematics and Music

Scope and Contents

From the Fonds:

The Macclesfield Collection principally comprises the archives of John Collins (1625-1683) and William Jones (1675-1749). As well as being mathematicians in their own right, both men corresponded with leading scientific figures of their day and so the collection includes autograph material by Isaac Newton, Edmond Halley, Henry Briggs, Roger Cotes, Henry Oldenburg and Robert Hooke.


  • Creation: c 1650-c 1750


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

Due to the fragile nature of the material access to the collection is restricted. It is available to view in the Cambridge University Digital Library at


18 folio(s) (ff.18 [quarto] paper) : paper

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition



Former reference: 5.20

Digitisation Processing Information

The volume contains a number of blank pages and some of these have been omitted from the digital copy - folios 14-16.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom