Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

[Manoel Island from Gzira, showing Sliema to the left and Valletta centre-right], 1882 - 1900

 Item
Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/Y3017G/2

Scope and Contents

300 x 240 mm. The Isoletto, or Bishop's Island, in Marsamxett Harbour, was fortified by the Knights of St John in the 1720s and 1730s, and was named after the Grand Master who paid for its construction and future maintenance.

Dates

  • 1882 - 1900

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Language of Materials

English

General

SG.

Date information

DateText: From the presence of the ferry landing place in 6, Ellul dates them as post 1882, when the Sliema-Valletta ferry began, but not later than 1900..

Finding aid date

2004-02-24 14:13:15+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom