Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Spring at Otto's, 1912

Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/Y3011E/27

Scope and Contents

212 x 160 mm. Showing newly excavated tanks created to store water from the spring at Otto's. By the end of 1912 Antigua had suffered from three successive years of drought which culminated in an almost total failure of supply in St. John's, although the situation was saved by heavy showers in October and November. Much work was done during 1912 to improve matters: the damming of Bendal's Stream, the clearing of springs, the digging of wells and the building of a dam across the Body Ponds south-east of St. John's. Otto's Estate, adjoining St. John's was the property of John Joseph Camacho, a member of the Leeward Islands Legislative Council.


  • 1912

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (

Language of Materials


Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements

Good condition.



Date information

DateText: The date is approximate..



Finding aid date

2003-06-16 16:29:48+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom