Skip to main content

Bechuanaland Independence Conference opens in London, 1966-02

Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/COI/A/76

Scope and Contents

157 x 203 mm. Picture shows a general view of the opening of the conference (from the left) Mr. D. Winton; Mr. A.N. Galsworthy, Deputy Under Secretary at the Colonial Office; Mrs. Eirene White, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Colonies; Lord Longford, Secretary of State for the Colonies; Sir Hilton Poynton, Permanent Under Secretary at the Colonial Office; and Mr. P. Ratcliffe, Secretary General; (from the right) Sir Hugh Norman-Walker, Her Majesty’s Commissioner in Bechuanaland; Chief Bathoen II; Dr. Seretse Khama, Prime Minister of Bechuanaland; Mr Q.K.J Masire, Deputy Prime Minister; Mr P.G. Matante, leader of the Opposition; and Mr. A.G. Tilbury, Attorney General.


  • Creation: 1966-02


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (

Language of Materials


Finding aid date

2011-11-03 17:12:53+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom