Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Map of King George’s Islands, 1774-04

 Item
Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 14/58: 104b

Scope and Contents

So called by Commodore Byron, 1765, and seen by Captain Cook in the Resolution, 1774. Taoukaá and a second, unnamed island are shown, along with a plot of the ship’s course. The latitude and east and west longitude from Greenwich are indicated in the border. Signed by William Wales.

Dates

  • 1774-04

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Extent

1 folio(s) (1 folio) : Paper

Language of Materials

English

Original geographic information

King George Islands [subject]

Original geographic information

Tahiti [subject]

Finding aid date

2012-05-09 10:23:44+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.