Skip to main content

Harris, Theodore Wilson, Sir, 1921-2018 (Knight, writer)



  • Existence: 1921-


Sir Theodore Wilson Harris was born in New Amsterdam, Guyana (at that time British Guyana) in 1921. He moved to the United Kingdom in 1959, and his first novel, Palace of the Peacock, was published in the following year. His numerous further novels include those collected as The Guyana Quartet and The Carnival Trilogy, and he has also published short stories, poetry and non-fiction. His latest novel, The Ghost of Memory, was published in 2006. Harris, who wrote under the name Wilson Harris and also the pseudonym Kona Waruk, was knighted in 2010.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:


The Ghost of Memory: sketches, drafts and proof of the novel by Wilson Harris

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9764
Scope and Contents

The Ghost of Memory was first published in London by Faber and Faber Limited in 2006, ISBN 9780571232406. This collection consists of Harris's rough sketches and preliminary drafts in manuscript, together with annotated typed and word-processed drafts and a corrected proof.

Dates: 2005-2006 (opening date inferred: most of the documents are undated)
Conditions Governing Access: Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (