Skip to main content

Letters on refusal to enter Lord Home's Administration, 1963-10 - 1963-11

Reference Code: GBR/0014/POLL 3/1/27

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, mainly commiserations, regrets and letters of thanks, on JEP's resignation as Minister of Health on Sir Alexander Douglas-Home [earlier 14th Lord Home] becoming Prime Minister. Correspondents include: Sir [Kenneth] Ivor Julian [Chairman, South-East Metropolitan Regional Hospital Board] (2); Edgar Kingston-McCloughry; Roger Peers, Secretary, King Edward’s Hospital Fund for London; John Wolfenden [Chairman, Family Service Units]; Gordon McLachlan, Secretary, Nuffield Provincial Hospitals Trust (2); Sir Thomas Williams, Chairman, United Cardiff Hospitals; Sir Robert Platt, Professor of Medicine, Manchester University; Dr Derek Stevenson, Secretary of the British Medical Association; Richard Ingrams, Editor of Private Eye, offering JEP a job; Esme Birch [later Esme, Lady Rhyl]; Sir James Greenwood; Sir Cyril Osborne (2); Dr Denis Wheeler, President, Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry; Martin Maddan [Parliamentary Private Secretary to JEP]; Philip Templeman, Chairman of the Wessex Regional Hospital Board; Baroness Northchurch [Frances, Lady Davidson]; Colin Dollery [Consultant Physician, Hammersmith Hospital]; Sir Thomas Harley; Martin Redmayne; Julian Ridsdale; 1st Lord Cohen of Birkenhead [Professor of Medicine, University of Liverpool]; Sir John Richardson [Honorary Consulting Physician, St Thomas’ Hospital]; Sir Edward Collingwood [Chairman, Newcastle Regional Hospital Board]; [Arthur] Stretton Reeve, Bishop of Lichfield; Catherine Hall, General Secretary, Royal College of Nursing; Geoffrey Johnson Smith; John Moss, Chairman of the National Old People’s Welfare Council; [?] Bernard Braine [Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health]; John Cashman [Private Secretary to JEP as Minister of Health]; Albert Martin, Chairman, Sheffield Regional Hospital Board; Sydney Ripley, Chairman, South West Metropolitan Regional Hospital Board; [William] John Biffen; Ralph Harris, General Director of the Institute of Economic Affairs (2); 2nd Lord Moynihan, Chairman of the North West Metropolitan Regional Hospital Board; Sir Douglas Logan, Principal of the University of London; Sir John Russell; [?] Michael Alison; Hugh Clegg [Editor], British Medical Journal; Sir [Robert] Godfrey Llewellyn; Geoffrey Geoffrey-Lloyd; Kenneth Lewis; John Bedford; Sir George Godber, Chief Medical Officer, Ministry of Health; Hector MacLennan, Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists; [John] Clement Jones [Editor and Director of the Wolverhampton Express and Star]; Dame Enid Russell-Smith [Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Health]; 3rd Lord Astor; Sir [Stanley] Graham Rowlandson, Chairman, North-East Metropolitan Regional Hospital Board; Geoffrey Finsberg; Lord Alport; Julian Amery; [Henry] Paul Channon; Charles Fletcher-Cooke; Timothy Raison, Editor of New Society; Hugh [Geoffrey] Wilson; Penelope, Lady Aitken; Andrew Freeth; [John] Peter Macnair; Sir James Lythgoe; Arthur Tiley; Sir John Mellor; Kenneth Robinson; Claude Lucas, Chairman of the Board of Governors, Great Ormond Street Hospital for Sick Children; Anthony Sumption; Hester, Lady Adrian; Jasper Rootham (2); Harold Macmillan, Prime Minister [later 1st Lord Stockton], giving notice of his resignation.


  • Creation: 1963-10 - 1963-11

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The majority of the collection is open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge. Please see individual files for details.


2 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Political 7: 1963-64

Finding aid date

2002-06-20 16:57:38+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087