Skip to main content

Leadership 1965 (Shadow Defence), 1965-07 - 1965-09

Reference Code: GBR/0014/POLL 3/1/25

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, mainly good wishes and commiserations on JEP's bid for leadership of the Conservative Party, and congratulations on his subsequent appointment as Shadow Defence Secretary and previous position as Transport Spokesman, with correspondents including: Jasper Rootham; 4th Lord St Oswald [earlier Rowland Winn] (2); Sir Nigel Ronald; Sir Clive Bossom; Derek Schreiber; Anthony Royle [later Lord Fanshawe of Richmond]; Alexander Durie, Director-General of the Automobile Association; Carel de Wet, South African Ambassador to Britain; Patrick Maitland [later 17th Lord Lauderdale]; Sir James Greenwood; Sir [Kenneth] Ivor Julian; Sir Richard Glyn [Chairman, Conservative Army Committee]; [John] Harley Williams, Director-General of the Chest and Heart Association; 1st Lord Dilhorne [earlier Reginald Manningham-Buller] (2); Iain Macleod; [William] John Biffen; [John] Clement Jones, Editor and Director of the Wolverhampton Express and Star; Charles Beattie.


  • Creation: 1965-07 - 1965-09

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The majority of the collection is open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge. Please see individual files for details.


1 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Political 7: 1963-64

Finding aid date

2002-06-20 16:54:18+00:00


Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087