Skip to main content

Congratulations on Ministry of Health, 1960-07 - 1960-10

Reference Code: GBR/0014/POLL 3/1/21

Scope and Contents

Correspondents congratulating JEP on his appointment as Minister of Health include: Sir Roy Harrod; Ivy, Duchess of Portland, Chairman of the Chest and Heart Association (2); [John] Harley Williams, Secretary-General of the Chest and Heart Association; John Leavey; Donald Johnson; 1st Lord Adrian, President of the Royal Society of Medicine; David Hopkinson; Tony Benn [2nd Lord Stansgate, earlier Anthony Wedgwood Benn]; Reginald Seconde; Dennis Vosper [former Minister of Health, later Lord Runcorn] (2); Lord Sandon [later 7th Lord Harrowby]; [Richard] Michael Fraser, Director of the Conservative Research Department; Duncan Duncan-Sandys; Julian Amery; William Anstruther-Gray [later Lord Kilmany]; Eric Ashby; Sir Peter Agnew; John Arbuthnot [former Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Minister of Health and member of the Public Accounts Committee] on health spending and the advantages of a combined Ministry of Social Services; [William] John Biffen; Clive Bossom; Edith, Lady Bird; 1st Lord Bossom; Sir Herbert Butcher; Sir Cyril Black; [David] Vivian Brecon; Michael Hutchison; Albert Costain; Robert Beloe, Secretary to the Archbishop of Canterbury; Sir [George] Beresford Craddock; Edmund Compton; Peter Cropper; Sir [Geoffrey] Miles Clifford; 1st Lord Clitheroe [earlier Ralph Assheton]; John Cordle (2); Charles Curran; Lord Craigton, Secretary of State for Scotland [earlier Jack Browne]; Sir Charles Dunphie; Baroness Elliot of Harwood; Neil Elles; John Finlay; Denzil Freeth; [?] Nigel Fisher; Andrew Freeth; Lord Fraser of Lonsdale; Geoffrey Finsberg; Sir Richard Glyn; Sir Clifford Gothard; Oswin Gibbs-Smith, Archdeacon of London; Charles Gough; James Greenwood; Eveline Hill; [Arthur] Vere Harvey; [?] John Hughes-Hallett; [Margaret] Patricia Hornsby-Smith [Joint Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Pensions and National Insurance]; Reverend Oscar Hardman; Henry Hollond; Antony Head; Colin Hardie; Lady Anne Holland-Martin; [John] Clement Jones [Editor of the Wolverhampton Express and Star]; Edgar Kingston-McCloughry; George Kitson Clark; Godfrey Lagden; Kenneth Lewis; [Arthur] Stretton Reeve, Bishop of Lichfield; Sir Frank Lee, Joint Permanent Secretary to the Treasury; Olive Lloyd-Baker; [? William] Fergus Montgomery; Bridget, Lady Monckton [11th Lady Ruthven of Freeland]; Martin Maddan; [Arthur] Hugh Molson; Derek Mitchell; Sir Geoffrey Mander; Ibrahim Nathoo, Minister for Works, Kenya; Sir [George] Richard Nugent; John Profumo; Elizabeth, Lady Pepler; Sir Charles Petrie; [?] Julian Ridsdale; Sir John Russell; John Richardson [Honorary Consulting Physician, St Thomas’ Hospital]; Peter Remnant; Edmund de Rothschild; John Rodgers; Sir Halford Reddish; Sir [Thomas] Leslie Rowan; William Rees-Davies; Jasper Rootham; Dr [Norman] Lloyd Rusby, Chest and Heart Association; Michael Strachan; Sir Malcolm Stoddart-Scott; Derek Schreiber; Arthur Seldon [Editorial Director, Institute of Economic Affairs]; Sir [Gerard] Spencer Summers; Sir John Smyth; Sir George Schuster; John Temple; Sir Colin Thornton-Kemsley; John Talbot; Robert Turton [later Lord Tranmire]; Sir Gordon Touche; Sir William Urton, General Director, Conservative and Unionist Central Office; Joan Vickers; Jean-Pierre Warner; [John] Harley Williams [Secretary-General of the Chest and Heart Association]; Charles Waterhouse; William Whitelaw.


  • Creation: 1960-07 - 1960-10


2 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Political 5: 1959-61


Noted on file as being 310 letters as at 15 Aug 1960.

Date information

DateText: The majority of folios date from July 1960.

Finding aid date

2002-06-19 16:55:08+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087