Skip to main content

Personal correspondence, 1965-02-25 - 1974-12-11

Reference Code: GBR/0014/POLL 1/1/22

Scope and Contents

The majority of correspondents write on JEP's decision to stand down as MP for Wolverhampton South West [Staffordshire], and his adoption and subsequent election as MP for Down South, Ulster [Northern Ireland]. Correspondents include: Robin Pollard, Secretary and Agent to JEP, on opposition to him in the Wolverhampton Conservative Association (8); George Wilkes, Wolverhampton Conservative Association constituency chairman, on opposition to JEP and his decision to stand down (3); Sir Peter Smithers on his paper about control of the United Nations; Edward du Cann [Chairman, 1922 Committee] (2); Douglas Kennedy (22); Reginald Paget (2); Patrick Wall on subjects including comparing the General Strike with the current labour situation, and his concerns about the Defence team, particularly Ian Gilmour [Secretary of State for Defence] (4); [Arthur] John Page [Chairman, Conservative Parliamentary Affairs Committee] on employees in key industry; Thomas Robbins (3); Nicholas Ridley on JEP's decision to step down and his opposition to Europe (5); [Irving] Thomas Stuttaford (3); Sir Frederick Corfield on industrial relations with the mining industry (2); Peter Jay, Economics Editor of the Times; Michael Strachan; [John] Derek Hayward, Archdeacon of Middlesex; Lord Bowden, Principal, University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology; Sir [Samuel] Knox Cunningham (2); Alan Clark (2); Sir [Thomas] Eric St Johnston; [Philip] Warren Hawksley; Ralph Harris on subjects including his anxiety about JEP's political move to Northern Ireland (3); Stephen Hastings; Sir Cyril Black; Denys Bullard; Maurice Cowling (2); Ian Harvey (2); Philip Holland; Alfred [Jerry] Wiggin; Philip Goodhart; Michael Alison; Patrick de Laszlo; Cyril Northcote Parkinson (4); Sir John Tilney (4); James Ramsden; Sir Eric Bullus; Thomas Skeffington-Lodge (3); Eric Morley, Chairman of Mecca Limited; Cyril Eastaugh [later Cyril Easthaugh]; Dipak Nandy on JEP's view of the election; [Margaret] Betty Harvie Anderson [later Baroness Skrimshire of Quarter] (2); Anthony Sumption; [William] John Biffen (6); Milton Friedman [Professor of Economics], University of Chicago; Robert Rhodes James (2); Robert Jenkins on subjects including a speech by JEP on the Common Market (6); Griffith Pierce (3); Christina Foyle (3); Michael Foot; 7th Lord Warwick [earlier Lord Brooke]; Sir Arthur Irvine; Olive Lloyd-Baker (2); Lord Geoffrey-Lloyd; [?] Lord Duncan-Sandys; Michael Latham (4); [Thomas] Malcolm Muggeridge; [Peter] Norman Fowler; Patrick Cosgrave; Philip Ziegler [Editorial Director, William Collins and Sons Limited] on JEP's review of a book by Cosgrave (3); Sir John Mellor (2); Frank Redington; [James] Alastair Burnet, Editor of the Economist; Peter Tapsell (3); William Whitelaw [Chairman of the Conservative Party]; Victor Russell (12); Sir Charles Wheeler; Manuel Iribarne, Spanish Ambassador to Britain; E G Morton (4); James Molyneaux [leader of the Ulster Unionist Party, House of Commons] on JEP finding a seat in Northern Ireland, and becoming leader of the Ulster Unionists in Parliament (3); John Selwyn-Lloyd, Speaker of the House of Commons (4); [Sarah] Eileen, Lady Brookeborough; Norman Collins (2); Sir Anthony Wagner on reconciling JEP and Edward Heath [Prime Minister]; Marcus Kimball; [Leonard] James Callaghan [Shadow Foreign Secretary] on renegotiation of Britain's entry into the Common Market; George Young; Sir John Smyth; representatives of Wolverhampton Borough Council on JEP's gift of candlesticks (4); Lord Thorneycroft on the dogmatism of JEP's economic views (2); Colin Baillieu; Jasper More; Hugh Fraser; Anthony Kershaw; [Alan] Ross McWhirter; Reverend Randolph Tasker, Professor Emeritus of New Testament Exegesis, King's College London; Harold Soref (5); William Deedes; John Hollingworth; [Keith] Harvey Proctor; H Neil Marten; Ruth Morrah; Harold Gurden; Dr K Watkins, Department of Political Theory and Institutions, University of Sheffield; Sir Keith Joseph on his policy on Europe; Piers Dixon; Alan Booth, Chairman of Watford Conservative Association (3); 6th Lord Enniskillen [earlier David Cole] on support for JEP from Irish peers; Nancy, Lady Enniskillen [earlier Nancy MacLennan]; Thomas Iremonger; Claude Lancaster [Chairman, the Bestwood Company Limited]; James Bourlet, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Commerce and Business Administration, University of British Columbia (3); Nicholas Stuart, Private Secretary to the Prime Minister; Gerald Ellison, Bishop of London on the Worship and Doctrine Measure (3).

Other subjects include: congratulations on JEP's broadcasts and speeches; offers of new constituency seats for JEP; Britain's entry into the Common Market; JEP's book No Easy Answers.

Also includes: extract from JEP's speech justifying his resignation (Wolverhampton, Dec 1973); drafts of the Wolverhampton Conservative Association annual report; copy of a speech by John Biffen on inflation (Wolverhampton, 1974); press cuttings on JEP's olive branch to the Conservative Party, May 1974; photograph of 1st Lord Brookeborough [earlier Basil Brooke]; copy of the Workers' Control Bulletin with speech by Tony Benn on industrial policy (Labour Party Conference, 1973); report on the collapse of Court Line Limited.


  • Creation: 1965-02-25 - 1974-12-11

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The majority of the collection is open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge. Please see individual files for details.


4 file(s) (4 files (774 folios))

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Personal 4: 1974

Date information

DateText: The majority of folios date to 1974.

Finding aid date

2002-02-07 16:15:37+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087