Skip to main content

Correspondence on Duff Cooper’s despatch on the formation of a group of Western democracies, 1944-07 - 1945-04

Reference Code: GBR/0014/DUFC 4/15

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Oliver Lyttelton [later 1st Lord Chandos], Minister of Production; [Maurice] Harold Macmillan, Resident Minister at Allied Headquarters in North-West Africa [later 1st Lord Stockton]; [Robert] Anthony Eden, Foreign Secretary [later 1st Lord Avon]; 1st Lord Halifax, British Ambassador to the United States [earlier Edward Wood and 1st Lord Irwin]; William Stewart [Head of French Section, Foreign Office Research Department], enclosing a note on foreign policy by Sir Eyre Crowe [former Permanent Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs]; Major-General Robert Laycock, Chief of Combined Operations; Lord Cranborne [later 5th Lord Salisbury], enclosing his own note on a Western European pact; Sir Hughe Knatchbull-Hugessen, British Ambassador to Belgium, enclosing his own letters to Oliver Harvey [Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Foreign Office] on the subject; Leslie Hore-Belisha.


  • Creation: 1944-07 - 1945-04


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The collection is open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


1 file(s)

Language of Materials


Related Materials

See also DUFC 4/7.

Finding aid date

2012-11-28 10:53:03.297000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087