Skip to main content

Miscellaneous clubs, societies, organizations and publications, A - Z, 1947-05 - 1955-09

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 6/1/92

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and papers on various organizations with which LSA was involved, with correspondents including: Carleton Allen, Warden of Rhodes House, on the Allied Circle; Samuel Hammersley, Executive Chairman of the Anglo-Israel Association; Sir Wyndham Deedes, Chairman of the Anglo-Israel Association; Viorel Tilea, President of the Anglo-Romanian Refugee Committee (2); Julian Amery; Arthur Greenwood on the Anglo-Romanian Refugee Committee; Robert Parsons, Secretary of the Burke Society (3); Sir Patrick Hannon on the Birmingham Unionist Association; Peter Unwin on the Blue Ribbon Club; Julian Critchley on the Blue Ribbon Club; Sir Edward Keeling, Secretary of the British School of Archæology in Iraq (2); representatives of the Societe Belge d'Etudes et d'Expansion (6); Robin Vanderfelt, Secretary of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, on the Compatriots' Club (3); Alan Dower, Compatriots' Club (2); Maurice Petherick on the Chamberlain Club (6); Sir Thomas Comyn-Platt, on the Chamberlain Club (4); [Archibald] David Stirling, President of the Capricorn Africa Society; Sir Howard d'Egville, Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association; Sir Harold Webbe on the City of London Young Conservatives; Edward Du Cann, Chairman of the City of London Young Conservatives (2); Francis Keenlyside, Secretary of the Climbers' Club; Patrick Donner on the Compatriots' Club; Sir [James] Angus Gillan, Chairman of the Conservative Commonwealth Council; Henry Hemming, Chairman of the Canadian British Education Committee and of the McGill University-Macdonald College scheme for British students (2); Douglas Kennedy, Director of the English Folk Dance and Song Society (3); Kenneth Lewis; Sir Frank Brown, Secretary of the East India Association (7); George Lindsay, Vice-President of the Educational Interchange Council (2); 2nd Lord Wakehurst [earlier John Loder], Chairman of the English-Speaking Union; Stephen King-Hall, Chairman of the Hansard Society; Sir [Edward] Louis Spears, Chairman of the Institute of Directors; John Murray, Chairman of the Society for Individual Freedom (3); John Troutbeck [former British Ambassador to Iraq] on the Iraq Archaeological Society (2); Charlotte, Lady Bonham-Carter on the Iraq Archaeological Society; 1st Lord Cecil of Chelwood, President of the Industrial Co-Partnership Association; Irene Ramsey, Secretary of the Industrial Co-Partnership Association (4); representatives of the Binyaney Haooma Association (3); Edward Beddington-Behrens; [Gerard] Spencer Summers, Chairman of the Outward Bound Trust (2); Sir [Wilfred] Harold Shoobert, Secretary of the Pakistan Society (3); Sir Dougal Malcolm on the Rhodesia and Nyasaland Club; Sir Lancelot Graham, Chairman of the Royal Empire Society (3); [Lionel] Archer Cust, Secretary-General of the Royal Empire Society (4); Tufton Beamish [later Lord Chelwood]; James Gray, Editor of South Africa; Katharine, Duchess of Atholl, President of the Yugoslav Aid Committee (2); Leonard Green, Chairman of the Save the Children Fund; [William] Linton Andrews [Editor of the Yorkshire Post]; representatives of the Zionist Federation (4).


  • Creation: 1947-05 - 1955-09

Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


4 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 248

Finding aid date

2004-12-21 11:39:15.610000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087