Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

"A Balanced Economy": correspondence and memoranda, 1952-02 - 1955-03

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEL 8/105

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, chiefly thanks for complementary copies, and also commenting on LSA's work, requesting permission to quote and contributing source material, with correspondents including: [Eric] Gordon England; Sir [James] Angus Gillan (2); Herbert Butterfield; John Biggs-Davison, Conservative Research Department (2); Sir Charles Webster; Sir [John] Gilbert Laithwaite; Sir Ronald Cross; [Daniel] Roland Michener; Sir [Charles] Willoughby Norrie; 3rd Lord Aberdare [earlier Clarence Bruce]; Randolph Churchill; Robert Menzies, Prime Minister of Australia; Sidney Holland, Prime Minister of New Zealand; Henry Walston; Ralph Rayner; Patrick Medd; 1st Lord Soulbury [earlier Herwald Ramsbotham]; 1st Lord Bracken; [Hugh] Fletcher Moulton; [Stanley] Paul Chambers; Sir Philip McBride; Louis St Laurent, Prime Minister of Canada; George Henry; 3rd Lord Melchett [earlier Julian Mond]; Gerald Graham; Evelyn Emmet; Walter Crocker, High Commissioner for Australia to India; Sir Roland Welensky; 1st Lord Mountbatten; 1st Lord Merriman; Harold Gibson (2); 1st Lord Chatfield; Shri Jawaharlal Nehru [Prime Minister of India]; Roger Norton; 3rd Lord Selborne [earlier Lord Wolmer]; 1st Lord Percy of Newcastle; 1st Lord Cherwell [earlier F A Lindemann]; Sir Alan Lascelles; Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe]; Maurice Petherick; Sir Keith Joseph; Sir [Harold] Leslie Boyce; Professor Solly Zuckerman (4); Margot, Lady Davson; Sir Patrick Hannon; Professor Malcolm Cooper (3); G M Trevelyan; Gordon Lang; 7th Lord Stanhope [earlier Lord Mahon]; Harmar Nicholls; 1st Lord Hailey; 5th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne]; Vivian Carter; 1st Lord Simonds; 1st Lord Horder; Sir Thomas White, High Commissioner for Australia in Britain (2); Siegmund Warburg; Professor Sir [William] Keith Hancock; Sir Reginald Dorman-Smith; 1st Lord Kennet [earlier Edward Hilton Young] (2); Arthur Greenwood; 1st Lord Athlone; Sir Hugh Beaver; 12th Lord Airlie; [Ernest] Meredyth Hyde-Clarke, Secretary of the Colonial Employers’ Federation; Sir Arthur Longmore, Royal Over-Seas League; 1st Lord Templewood [earlier Sir Samuel Hoare]; 1st Lord Courthope; Sir Thomas Comyn-Platt; Eric Bullus; representatives of Hutchinson and Company Limited, publishers (10); Sir Simon Marks (2); representatives of Pearn, Pollinger and Higham, authors' agents (8); Marcus Sieff (5); Mirza Ispahani, High Commissioner for Pakistan in Britain; Geoffrey Faber; [George] Peter Thorneycroft, President of the Board of Trade; 1st Lord Balfour of Inchrye, Chairman of the Empire Industries Association and British Empire League; Sir Cecil Weir; R A Butler, Chancellor of the Exchequer (2); Bernard Braine; Norman Robertson, High Commissioner for Canada in Britain; Sir Frederick Doidge, High Commissioner for New Zealand in Britain; 1st Lord Samuel; 1st Lord Weir; Sir Harry Railing; Gwilym Lloyd-George [later 1st Lord Tenby]; Geoffrey Lloyd, Minister of Fuel and Power; James Thomas, First Lord of the Admiralty [later 1st Lord Cilcennin] on Patrick de Laszlo's fibreglass yacht; Patrick de Laszlo; Sir Desmond Morton, Treasury (2).

Also includes: drafts of the foreword and description of the book.


  • 1952-02 - 1955-03

Conditions Governing Access

The papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.


4 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 266

Finding aid date

2004-12-16 17:26:17.640000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087