Skip to main content

Suez Canal stand: correspondence (1), 1950-03 - 1953-09

Reference Code: GBR/0014/AMEJ 1/2/71

Scope and Contents

Correspondence on the stand taken by the Suez Canal Emergency Committee in Parliament over the withdrawal of British troops from the Canal Zone, with correspondents including: Leo Amery (5); Ivor Bulmer-Thomas, Acting Managing Editor of the Daily Telegraph; 1st Lord Hore-Belisha on changing tactics and finding an alternative to the Canal (2); 1st Lord Killearn [earlier Miles Lampson] (8); Edward Martell, Editor of the Recorder; 1st Lord Hankey on subjects including the threat from the United States (8); John Selwyn-Lloyd [Minister of State, Foreign Office]; Cyril Lord (2); Charles Waterhouse (9); Patrick Maitland [later 17th Lord Lauderdale]; Juliet, Lady Rhys-Williams, BBC board of governors, on a BBC broadcast about Suez; [Edward] Lancelot Mallalieu; Christopher Holland-Martin (2); Sir Douglas Savory (2); Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe] (2); John Biggs-Davison, Conservative Research Department; Eliahu Elath, Israeli Ambassador to Britain, enclosing the text of his speech to the Anglo-Israeli Club on the Middle East; [John] Enoch Powell (3); Sir Robert Boothby; Sir [Robert] Anthony Eden [Foreign Secretary, later 1st Lord Avon] on subjects including Patrick Domvile (2); Major-General Laurence Grand (2); John Morrison [later 1st Lord Margadale] (2); Anthony Fell; Lord Hinchingbrooke; Alan Gomme-Duncan; Lieutenant-General Sir Wilfrid Lindsell (3); 1st Lord Cunningham of Hyndhope; 1st Lord Vansittart; Robert Ryder; 3rd Lord Cromer [earlier Lord Errington]; Donald Anderson; Ian Horobin; 2nd Lord Hailsham [later Lord Hailsham of Saint Marylebone]; [George] Beresford Craddock; 1st Lord Bruce of Melbourne; 1st Lord Simon; Sir Guy Lloyd (2); [Arthur] Douglas Dodds-Parker (2); 1st Lord Rotherwick [earlier Herbert Cayzer]; [Edward] Henry Legge-Bourke; 2nd Lord Rennell [earlier Francis Rodd]; Colin Coote [Managing Editor of the Daily Telegraph]; Charles Mott-Radclyffe; Tufton Beamish [later Lord Chelwood] (2); Dermot Morrah, Editor of the Round Table; 1st Lord Beaverbrook [earlier William Max Aitken]; 2nd Lord Birkenhead [earlier Lord Furneaux]; Field Marshal Sir William Slim; [Arthur] Vere Harvey; Sir Walter Smart (2).

Also includes notes for Leo Amery on setting up the Emergency Committee.


  • Creation: 1950-03 - 1953-09


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

The majority of the papers are open for consultation by researchers using Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge, though the constituency papers and some of the correspondence and political papers remain closed.


2 file(s)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference

Box 680

Finding aid date

2011-01-19 17:01:07.580000+00:00

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087