Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: Correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, A - Z., 15 May 1945 - 01 Mar 1950

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/55

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: David Nenk, Private Secretary to the Minister of Education; Basil Dickinson, Private Secretary to the Minister of Transport; Cyril Walker, Director of Housing and Valuer, London County Council (3); Derek Stephen, Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War; Graham Mills; Sir James Hawkey [Chairman, Woodford Conservative Association] (2); [?] Dinah Pratt [former Honorary Secretary, Epping Division Conservative Association]. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence by Penelope Wall and Lorna Cowper, WSC's secretaries.Subjects include: housing enquiries; the minimum age limit for the General Certificate of Education; the use of animal plasma in food production; food rationing in India; war damage repairs; London rail transport; fuel allowances; prescription charges; teachers' pay and London allowance; a local polio outbreak.Also includes: a statement on the condition of a local rest centre, Hornchurch [Essex]; the Ilford and Woodford [Essex] branch RAF Association newsletter; cartoon petition from Teachers World.


  • Creation: 15 May 1945 - 01 Mar 1950

Conditions Governing Access

Open, except for folios 11 - 17 and 184, closed for 75 years until 2026 on grounds of data protection due to presence of sensitive and personal information about potentially living individuals.


1 item(s) (1 file (207 loose folios))

Language of Materials