Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, K-Z., Apr 1946 - May 1947

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/35

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: [Kenneth] Witney, [Assistant] Private Secretary [to the Home Secretary] (3); [Arthur] Peterson [Principal Private Secretary to the Home Secretary]; L D Baynes of the War Office (7); [Michael] Barrington-Ward, Divisional General Manager, London North Eastern Railway (4); Nora Sabel, Private Secretary to Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe] (6); Henry Hopkinson [later 1st Lord Colyton, Head of Conservative Parliamentary Secretariat and Joint Director, Conservative Research Department]; Frederick Mummery, Assistant Secretary, Woodford Conservative Association (8); [Theresa] Brewster, Private Secretary, War Damage Commission (6); constituent Major F W Stevens (4); [Arthur] Drew [Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War] (2); constituent J H Thirkell (4); [Barry] Gidden [Private Secretary to the Minister of Works] (2). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Christine Taylor, Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], Edmund Oddy (Honorary Secretary), Grace Hamblin, and Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow].Subjects covered by the file include: appeals by constituents in a variety of areas, including immigration and emigration, national service and demobilisation, train travel particularly by LNER, housing, rationing, war gratuities, war damaged property, land use, teachers' pay, taxation, and schools; comments by constituents on various national and international issues, including tobacco, rationing and shortages, animal welfare, and hours of daylight; requests for WSC to attend or support local events; applications for House of Commons tickets.Also includes: a "No Conscription" petition.


  • Apr 1946 - May 1947

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (347 loose folios))

Language of Materials