Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: correspondence with or on behalf of constituents, C-F., Apr 1945 - Apr 1946

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/24

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: [Hugh] Farmar [Assistant Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Air]; J H Hughes of the Air Ministry (7); M L Elder of the War Office (4); Sir James Hawkey [Chairman of Woodford Conservative Association] (6); [James] McGregor [Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War]; S A Coles (4); Muriel Loosemore of the Ministry of Fuel and Power (5); Steven Watson, Private Secretary to the Minister of Fuel and Power; Sir George Harvie Watt; [Claud] Wright, [Principal] War Office; R H Eastaway (5); [John] Millson, [Private Secretary to the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Air] (2). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from: secretaries Elizabeth Layton, Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], Kathleen Hill, Elizabeth Gilliatt, and Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow]; Dorothy Spencer [of Conservative and Unionist Party Organisation]; [Prime Minister WSC's Private Secretary] Edith Watson.Subjects covered by the file include: appeals by constituents in a variety of areas, including national service and demobilisation, housing, employment, rationing particularly of fuel, compensation, repatriation, pensions, war damage, and financial assistance; applications for House of Commons tickets; comments by constituents on various national and military issues; a request for WSC to attend a dinner.


  • Creation: Apr 1945 - Apr 1946

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (292 loose folios))

Language of Materials


External Documents


Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087