Skip to main content

Political: Constituency: Woodford [Essex]: correspondence with Woodford Conservative Association branches at Aldersbrook, Buckhurst Hill, Loughton, Monkhams, Snaresbrook, and Wanstead [all Essex]., Aug 1952 - Jun 1956

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 3/18

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Sir James Hawkey, Chairman [until 1952], and W Hubert Barlow-Wheeler, Honorary Secretary and Agent, (4) of Woodford Conservative Association. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from: secretaries Lettice Marston (Lettice Shillingford), Grace Hamblin, H [?Wood], Gillian Maturin, and Anthony Montague Browne; CSC (President of Woodford Conservative Association).Subjects include: organising visits to the Houses of Parliament; a message of sympathy for Queen Elizabeth on the death of King George VI; concern over WSC's health; invitations to local events including dinners and dances and the Wanstead branch garden party, June 1956; the use of CSC's car in the Chigwell [Essex] council election campaign.Also includes: Monkhams branch dinner and dance programme and invitations from Monkhams and Wanstead; copies of notes for WSC's speech at Wanstead (23 June 1956) on the branch, Sir Anthony [Eden's, later 1st Lord Avon] government, and relations with the United States.


  • Creation: Aug 1952 - Jun 1956

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (85 loose folios))

Language of Materials