Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Various: Churchill Endowment Fund and the Sonning Prize., Feb 1951 - Apr 1957

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/620A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and papers accumulated by Trustee Colonel William Deakin and Jo Sturdee [later Lady Onslow], Secretary to the British Section, on the setting up and administration of the Fund for educational and cultural exchanges between Britain and Denmark, including a donation towards an Anglo-Danish expedition to North Greenland, 1952-53.Other correspondents include: [Harvey] Druitt, Assistant Treasury Solicitor (4); Count Eduard Reventlow, Danish Ambassador to the United Kingdom (2); Sir Philip Morris, Vice-Chancellor, Bristol University (26); Michael Wilford and Frederick Leishman [Assistant Private Secretaries to the Foreign Secretary]; Joan Ede, Morris' secretary (4); [Henry] Hainworth and Anthony Haigh [Head], of the Cultural Relations Department, Foreign Office; representatives of the University of Copenhagen [Denmark] (2) including Rector Magnificus H M Hansen; Sir Alec Randall [former British Ambassador to Denmark] (7); "Liz" [Elizabeth Gilliatt, WSC's secretary]; WSC; Roderick Barclay [British Ambassador to Denmark]; J Scarenius, 2nd Secretary, Danish Embassy.Also includes: details of the members of the Board; copy of the Fund's Charter; drafts of press publicity material for the Fund; text of a BBC Danish Service broadcast by Randall; list of stocks purchased and a scheme of investments; minutes of meetings; sketch of a name plate for the Fund; proofs of headed paper; photographs of WSC, Deakin, Randall, Hansen, Reventlow, and others at a signing ceremony for the Fund on 5 May 1953.


  • Creation: Feb 1951 - Apr 1957

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 files (271 loose folios))

Language of Materials