Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Patronage: Correspondence, Arts - Bristol., Jan 1956 - Jan 1965

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/541A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents concerning honours to be given to WSC, or tributes made to him include: Sir Hamilton Kerr and Dr Barnett Stross representing the Arts and Amenities Committees of the Conservative and Labour parties on purchase tax on gramophone records; Stephen Rowland Pierce and Edward Halliday, successive Chairmen of the Arts Club; Sir William Emrys Williams, Secretary General of the Arts Council; Sir Charles Wheeler, John Aldridge, Christopher Sanders and Augustus John on behalf of the Artists' General Benevolent Institute; Sir Thomas White, High Commissioner for Australia; J Walker, Secretary of the Baltic Exchange (6); Air Commodore Donald MacDonnell, [1st Lord] Dowding, and Air Vice-Marshal John Worrall on the Battle of Britain Fighter Association; Major-General Lionel Hoare, President of the Council of the Big Ben Silent Minute Observance; Herbert Lee, Chief Agent of the Bradford [Yorkshire] Conservative and National Liberal Association (4); and John Colville.Also includes: copies of correspondence from WSC to the individuals mentioned above; notes and copies of correspondence from Doreen Pugh, Catherine Snelling and Gillian Maturin [Secretaries to WSC] and Anthony Montague Browne [Private Secretary to WSC]; receipts for donations from WSC; pamphlets and information the Radcliffe report on monetary policy, the Baronial Order of the Magna Carta, the Big Ben Silent Minute Observance, and the proposed University of Sussex at Brighton; and invitations to Beckenham [Kent].


  • Creation: Jan 1956 - Jan 1965

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 files (219 loose folios))

Language of Materials