Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Greetings: Birthday and Christmas greetings (and gifts correspondence)., 1955 - 1965

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/483A-G

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Sir Richard Pim; Henry Laughlin; Nicholas Soames, Emma Soames, Jeremy Soames and Charlotte Soames; Julian Sandys; "Archie" [1st Lord Thurso [earlier Archibald Sinclair]; 10th Duke of Marlborough and Mary, Duchess of Marlborough; [1st Lord] Kilmuir [earlier David Maxwell-Fyfe]; Lord Ivor Spencer Churchill; Peter Thorneycroft; "Buck", 9th Lord de la Warr [earlier Lord Buckhurst]; Walter Monckton; Charles Rhys [later 8th Lord Dynevor] and Hope Rhys [later Hope, Lady Dynevor]; [12th] Lord Airlie [earlier Lord Ogilvy]; Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother; Winthrop Aldrich on subjects including the presentation of a medal from Dwight Eisenhower; Eliahu Elath, Israeli Ambassador to Great Britain; 1st Lord Athlone [earlier Alexander Cambridge]; Pandit Nehru; Lewis Douglas; "Monty" [1st Lord Montgomery]; Esmond [2nd Lord] Rothermere [earlier Esmond Harmsworth]; Averell Harriman; Oscar Nemon; Sir Albert Braithwaite; Herbert Haseltine; Frances, Lady Lloyd George; Arthur Sulzberger; Anthony Moir; Charles Eade; Pamela, Lady Lytton [earlier Pamela Plowden]; Queen Elizabeth II; Clement Attlee; Frederick, 1st Lord Leathers; "Mollie", Margaret, Duchess of Buccleuch [earlier Margaret, Lady Dalkeith]; "Geordie" [5th Duke of] Sutherland [earlier George Sutherland Leveson-Gower]; Sally Churchill; Sir Eric Crankshaw; Flora Guest; Sir Clive Morrison Bell; "Sunny" [Lord Blandford, later 11th Duke of Marlborough]; [3rd] Lord Cromer [earlier Lord Errington]; "Freddie" [2nd Lord Birkenhead, earlier Frederick Smith]; Leslie, Lord Hore-Belisha; 1st Lord Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis]; Gwilym Lloyd George [later 1st Lord Tenby]; John Colville; William Deakin; Sir Norman Brook [later Lord Normanbrook]; Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands; [General Walter] Bedell Smith; Sir [Brunel] Cohen; Viorel Tilea; Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi; [Jacob] Epstein; Jack Billmeir; "Bill" [William 1st Lord] De L'Isle [earlier William Sidney and 6th Lord De L'Isle and Dudley]; Kathleen Hill; Elizabeth Gilliatt; Douglas Fairbanks; Lord Cunningham of Hyndhope; Anthony Montague Browne; Patrick [2nd Lord] Moynihan; Victor [1st Lord] Bruntisfield [earlier Victor Warrender]; David Pitblado; Alfred Bossom; George Gordon Allen; "Elsie" [Elizabeth] Lady Salisbury [earlier Elizabeth, Lady Cranbourne]; David Sarnoff; Sir Roger Hawkey; Constance Soames; Sir Patrick Hannon; Sir Newman Flower; Antonio Giraudier; Lord Rupert Nevill; Sir Gerald Curteis, Deputy Master of Trinity House; Sir Philip Morris, Vice-Chancellor of Bristol University; [1st] Lord Sandford [earlier Albert Edmondson], Chairman of the Carlton Club; [Robert James] Headmaster of Harrow School; David Logan; Arnold [1st Lord] Gridley; Consuelo Balsan [earlier Consuelo, Duchess of Marlborough and Consuelo Vanderbilt]; [1st Lord] Jeffreys; Henry Guest; Tom O'Brien, MP; Cecily ["Chips"] Gemmel; Emery Reves [earlier Imre Revesz]; Pamela Churchill [later Pamela Harriman]; Hugh, [1st Lord Quickswood, earlier Hugh Cecil]; Sir Hugh Tudor; Sir Robert Cary; Count Dino Grandi; Sir Edward Errington, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations; Admiral Harold Stark; Cyril Black; Stavros Niarchos; Harold Macmillan [later 1st Lord Stockton]; Konrad Adenauer; Vincent Auriol; Louis St Laurent; Robert Menzies; General George Marshall; Nawab Sir Sadiq Mohammad Bahadur, Ameer of Bahawalpur [Pakistan]; Walter Graebner; K Tonkin of William Gunn and Company (3); [1st] Lord Llewellin; Peter Daubeny; Lord Russell of Liverpool; Paul Reynaud; Peregrine Churchill; [1st Lord] Salter; Lady Juliet Duff; Sir James Dunn; Malcolm Dunn, Chairman of the Winston Churchill 80th birthday presentation fund; Brigadier John Smyth; Sir William Darling; Andre de Staercke; Rhoda, Lady Birley; Patrick Kinna; Anthony Eden [later 1st Lord Avon]; Willy Sax [supplier of paint to WSC]; [1st Lord] Ismay; Sir William Rook; Diana Sandys [earlier Diana Churchill] and Duncan Sandys; Arabella Churchill; Sir Alexander Korda; Isakander Mirza, Governor General of Pakistan; Lieutenant-Colonel Nawab Malik Khan Tiwana; Sarah Beauchamp [earlier Sarah Churchill and Sarah Oliver, later Sarah, Lady Audley]; Haile Selassie, Emperor of Ethiopia; Charles Wood; Max Nauta; Sir Richard Gale; Miles [1st Lord] Killearn [earlier Miles Lampson]; Eugene Meyer; Reginald MacDonald-Buchanan; Hugh Frewen; Aga Khan III; Princess Ingeborg of Sweden; Violet Markham; Queen Alexandra of Yugoslavia [later Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, and Slovenia]; Denis Wright; Sir Harry Brittain; Clare Sheridan; "Edie" [Edith], Lady Londonderry; Frank Salisbury; [1st Lord] Coleraine [earlier Richard Law]; Sir Francis Whitmore; Denis Kelly; Eliot Crawshay-Williams; Edward, Lord Iliffe; Edward Heath; Harry Truman; Sir Hugh Foot [later Lord Caradon], Governor of Jamaica; "Max" [Lord] Beaverbrook [earlier Max Aitken]; Viola Garvin; Viorel Tilea; Henry Laughlin; Eugene de Rothschild; Field Marshal Sir William Slim; Sir Roderick Jones; Desmond Flower; Julian Amery; [Richard] Stokes; Sir Roger Hawkey; Frederick [1st Lord] Leathers; Somerset Maugham; Hartley Shawcross; Eleanor Roosevelt; [Nancy [Lady] Astor; David Logan; Cullum Welch, Lord Mayor of London; Neville Duke; [Sir Joseph] Gurney Braithwaite; [5th Lord] Munster [earlier Geoffrey FitzClarence]; Sir Matthew Drysdale, Chairman of Lloyds; Anthony de Rothschild; Vivien [Lady] Olivier [earlier Vivien Leigh] and Laurence Olivier; Leslie Rowan; [1st] Lord Vansittart; [1st Lord] Waverley [earlier John Anderson]; [1st] Lord Portal; Odette Pol Roger; "Prof" [1st Lord Cherwell, earlier Frederick Lindemann]; and Celia Sandys.Also includes lists of telegrams received and summaries of responses sent; a press statement by WSC; and notes and copies of correspondence from Anthony Montague Browne and David Pitblado [Private Secretaries to WSC], Grace Hamblin and Gillian Maturin [Secretaries to WSC]; and copies of letters sent by CSC.Other subjects include the placement of a plaque on Mount Kilimanjaro [Tanzania] and arrangements for photographs.


  • Creation: 1955 - 1965

Conditions Governing Access



7 file(s) (812 loose folios, paginated in two sequences)

Language of Materials


Existence and Location of Copies

Folios 111 and 290: Copyright holders (De L'Isle and Aga Khan) have withheld permission for online publication. Available at Churchill Archives Centre.

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087