Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Greetings: Birthday greetings., 1949

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/456A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents (concerning birthday wishes to WSC) include: Viorel Tilea; "Crankie" [Sir Edward Crankshaw]; Reginald Fellowes; Sir James Dunn; Major-General Ernest Walford; Gustav Rasmussen, Danish Minister for Foreign Affairs; Georges Bidault, French Foreign Minister; Leslie Rowan; Thomas Dewey; George Drew; "Bill" [Berkeley] Ormerod, Head of British Information Services, New York [United States]; "Betty", Admiral Harold Stark; Averell [Harriman]; Mackenzie King; William Mabane; Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe] Chairman of the Conservative Party; Sir George Harvie-Watt; Sir [Percy] Malcolm Stewart; Sir Patrick Hannon; "Pug" [1st] Lord Ismay; [5th] Duke of Palmella, Portuguese Ambassador to Great Britain; Sir Newman Flower; 1st Lord Bledisloe [earlier Charles Bathurst]; [Harold] Anthony Nutting; Lord Rupert Nevill; William Surrey Dane; Stefan Thorvardsson, Icelandic Minister to Great Britain; Leonard [1st Lord] Lyle; Sir Frank Sanderson; Sir Thomas Moore; Lord Ivor Churchill; Sir Clive Morrison Bell; Paul Maze; Sir Richard Hopkins; Sir Patrick Hannon; Charles Eade; Charles Wood [former literary assistant to WSC]; Eric [3rd Lord] Long; Esmond [2nd Lord] Rothermere [earlier Esmond Harmsworth]; [1st Lord] Killearn [earlier Miles Lampson]; "Freddy" [2nd Lord Birkenhead, earlier Frederick Smith]; Sir Arthur Salter; [Rupert] de la Bere; Allan Noble; Albert Alexander [later 1st Lord Alexander of Hillsborough]; Leslie Hore-Belisha; Lord Leathers [later 1st Lord Leathers]; Charles Nicholl; [Sir Richard] Pim; Andrew [1st Lord] Cunningham; [1st] Lord Hyndley; Sir Ernest Swinton; Princess Arthur of Connaught; [1st Lord] Balfour of Inchrye; [1st] Lord Sandford [earlier Albert Edmondson]; Frederick Lister; Sir Arnold Gridley; [Edward] George Churchill; Herbert Morrison; Sir Oswald Birley; Clement Davies; Sir David Maxwell-Fyfe [later 1st Lord Killmuir]; Sir William Darling; Harold Macmillan [later 1st Lord Stockton]; Alfred Bossom; Henry Luce; [1st] Lord Portal of Hungerford; 1st Lord Athlone; "Elsie" [Elizabeth] Lady Salisbury [earlier Elizabeth, Lady Cranbourne]; Leo Amery; Walter Graebner; Lewis Douglas; R A Butler; Sir Walter Lamb; Horatia Seymour; Julian Sandys; "Mollie" [Margaret], Duchess of Buccleuch [earlier Margaret, Lady Dalkeith]; Lady Violet Bonham Carter [earlier Violet Asquith and Violet, Lady Bonham Carter, later Lady Asquith of Yarnbury]; Desmond Flower; [Lord] Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis and later 1st Lord Woolton]; Nicholas Soames; Benno Elkan; Frank Clarke; Winston Churchill; [17th] Duke of Alba; "Ike" [Dwight] Eisenhower; Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands; Princess Wilhelmina of the Netherlands; Sarah [Beauchamp, earlier Sarah Churchill, then Sarah Oliver, later Sarah, Lady Audley] and Antony Beauchamp; King George VI and Queen Elizabeth; Harry Truman; Clement Attlee; "Max" [1st] Lord Beaverbrook [earlier Max Aitken]; Jan Smuts; Haakon, King of Norway; Gustaf, Prince of Sweden; Frank Sawyers; Ralph Moore, Headmaster of Harrow School; John Foster Dulles; [1st Lord] Davidson; Patrick Donner; [6th] Lord Donegall [earlier Lord Templemore]; "Bill", [1st Lord] Camrose [earlier Sir William Berry]; Pamela [Lady Lytton, earlier Pamela Plowden]; Charles Rhys [later 8th Lord Dynevor]; Lady Juliet Duff; Per Prebensen, Norwegian Ambassador to Great Britain; [Sir Andrew] Duncan; John Andrews; Mary, Duchess of Marlborough; Pamela Churchill [later Pamela Harriman]; Harry [1st Lord] McGowan; [Rene] Massigli; Sir Eustace Tennyson d'Eyncourt; Gomer [1st Lord Kemsley, earlier James Berry]; Henry de Torrente; June Churchill; Randolph Churchill and Arabella Churchill; Sir Frederick Cripps; Sir Godfrey Thomas; Sir Hartley Shawcross; Sir Archibald Sinclair [later 1st Lord Thurso]; Lady Lilian Grenfell [earlier Lady Lilian Spencer-Churchill]; Guy Fanshawe; Peter Fraser; [1st Lord] Baldwin; Hugh Frewen; Robert Menzies; Odette Pol Roger; William Deakin; Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi; James Henderson-Stewart; Patrick Kinna; Christabel [Lady] Aberconway; "Bendor" [2nd Duke of Westminster]; Frances, Lady Lloyd George; Claude Grahame-White; [Arthur] Waters, Editor of the News of the World; George Crosfield; and [Allan] Noble.Also includes: copies of correspondence from WSC to the individuals mentioned above; notes and copies of correspondence from Elizabeth Gilliatt, Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel], "Chips" Gemmel and "N S" ["Jo" Sturdee, later Lady Onslow], Secretaries to WSC; summaries of gifts and letters received; and an illustration of WSC.


  • Creation: 1949

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (560 loose folios)

Language of Materials


Existence and Location of Copies

Folio 374: Copyright holder (John Foster Dulles) has withheld permission for online publication. Available at Churchill Archives Centre.

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087