Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Gifts: Birthday gifts: S-Z., 1954 - 1955

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/426

Scope and Contents

Correspondents (mainly concerning 80th birthday gifts to WSC) include: [5th] Lord Munster [earlier Geoffrey FitzClarence], Minister without Portfolio; and Martin Lynch [Private Secretary to Munster]; Andrew Stark [Assistant Private Secretary to the Foreign Secretary]; Spyros Skouras (5), President, and J Pattison (3), Director, of 20th Century Fox, regarding the installation of Cinemascope film equipment at Chartwell [Kent]; Priscilla, Lady Tweedsmuir [earlier Priscilla, Lady Grant]; Richard Greville of Conservative and Unionist Central Office; Edward Curzon [later 6th Lord Howe], Chairman of the South Buckinghamshire Conservative Association; Christopher Holland-Martin, Honorary Treasurer of the Conservative and Unionist Party; Henry Spence; Margaret, Lady Stanley; "Jo" Sturdee [later Lady Onslow]; Sir [Charles] Duncan Swann; Mary, Lady Swinton [earlier Mary, Lady Cunliffe-Lister]; Myron Taylor; Peter Thorneycroft, President of the Board of Trade; Wolfgang von Tirpitz; Reverend John Tredennick, vicar of Crockham Hill [Kent]; Sir Gerald Curteis, Deputy Master of Trinity House; Sir Godfrey Thomas, Private Secretary to the Duke of Gloucester; Nicholas Robin Udal, Secretary of the Athenaum (4); Ava, Lady Waverley [earlier Ava, Lady Anderson and Ava Wigram]; Mary Soames [earlier Mary Churchill]; Captain Archibald Cooper regarding a gift from the people of Westerham [Kent]; Cyril Whittles (4); "Moppet" [Maryott Whyte]; John Wilson [later 2nd Lord Moran]; M Graham Grey, Secretary to the Mayor of Wimbledon [Surrey]; 1st Lord Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis], Chairman, Conservative and Unionist Central Office; and Geoffrey Wilson.Also includes copies of correspondence from WSC and CSC to the individuals mentioned above and to Willy Sax [supplier of paints to WSC], Field Marshal Philbul Songgram, Prime Minster of Siam [later Thailand], Sacheverell Sitwell, Tage Erlander, Prime Minister of Sweden, Konrad Adenauer, the Duke of Gloucester, Lieutenant-Commander Michael Parker [Private Secretary to the Duke of Edinburgh], Queen Elizabeth II, Alan Hodge [editor of History Today]; and notes and copies of correspondence from Elizabeth Gillatt [Secretary to WSC], Gwen Davies [Secretary to WSC], Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel, Secretary to WSC], L Rushbrook [Secretary to WSC], Grace Hamblin [Secretary to WSC], John Colville [Private Secretary to WSC], Christopher Soames [Parliamentary Private Secretary to WSC], and Anthony Montague Browne [Private Secretary to WSC].Other subjects covered by the file include: arrangements for a dinner at Trinity House.


  • Creation: 1954 - 1955

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (246 loose folios)

Language of Materials


Existence and Location of Copies

Folios 224-5: Copyright holder (Lord Moran) has withheld permission for online publication. Available at Churchill Archives Centre.

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087