Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Gifts A-B., 1880 - 1953

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/407

Scope and Contents

Correspondents (concerning gifts to WSC) include: John Priestman [Assistant Private Secretary to Foreign Secretary]; Helen, Lady Alderson; Frank Armstrong; 1st Lord Balfour of Inchrye [earlier Harold Balfour]; Victor Finney of the J Arthur Rank Organisation Limited; Gerald Nabarro; Viorel Tilea; Frank Beresford; Count Edward Reventlow, Danish Ambassador to Great Britain; Rhoda, Lady Birley; Lieutenant-General Sir Thomas Hutton, Director of the British Productivity Council; William Anstruther-Gray [later 1st Lord Kilmany]; Sir Norman Brook [later 1st Lord Normanbrook, Secretary to the Cabinet]; Patrick Buchan-Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes] and Diana Buchan-Hepburn [later Diana, Lady Hailes]; and [William] Bustmante.Also includes copies of correspondence from WSC and CSC to the individuals mentioned above and to Winthrop Aldrich, United States Ambassador to Great Britain; 1st Lord Alexander of Tunis and Margaret, Lady Alexander [earlier Lady Margaret Bingham], Consuelo Balsan [earlier Consuelo, Duchess of Marlborough], Anthony [Eden, later 1st Lord Avon]; Jean Van Houtte, Prime Minister of Belgium, [Edward] Glanvill Benn, Chairman of Ernest Benn Limited, 1st Lord Bledisloe [earlier Charles Bathurst], Jack Noxin Browne [later 1st Lord Craigton], George Buday, Commander Douglas Marshall, and Peter Kitcatt; various photographs; presscuttings; poems; a summary of gifts sent to WSC; silk portraits of 1st Lord Beaconsfield [earlier Lord Hughendon and Benjamin Disraeli] and Lord Randolph Churchill (dating to circa 1880); bookmarks commemorating the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II; notes and copies of correspondence from Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel, Secretary to WSC], Elizabeth Gilliatt [Secretary to WSC], "Jo" Sturdee [later Lady Onslow, Secretary to WSC], Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford, Secretary to WSC], Sheila Minto [Secretary to WSC], R McHale [Secretary to WSC], John Colville [Private Secretary to WSC], Anthony Montague Browne [Private Secretary to WSC], David Hunt [Private Secretary to WSC] and Christopher Soames [Parliamentary Private Secretary to WSC].Most of the material in the file dates to 1953.


  • Creation: 1880 - 1953

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (335 loose folios))

Language of Materials


External Documents

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087