Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Private and Personal: Personal correspondence H - N., 26 Nov 1951 - 06 Apr 1955

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/206

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Charles Orr-Ewing on Old Harrovian dinners (6); James Hutchison; Lawrence Verney; Robert James, Headmaster of Harrow School [Middlesex] on a visit by WSC (8); Sir Geoffrey Hutchinson [later Lord Ilford] (2); 1st Lord Kirkwood; Sir Percy Spender [Australian Ambassador to the United States] on Marjorie Lawrence singing for WSC (2); Roger Makins [later 1st Lord Sherfield, British Ambassador to the United States] on Marjorie Lawrence; Claude Lancaster (2); David Logan (2); 3rd Lord Long on press attacks against WSC; John Martin on press attacks against WSC's views on Communism; [Edward] George Churchill on the anniversary of the Mount Everest Flight [Nepal and Tibet]; P T Etherton [Honorary Secretary, Mount Everest Flight]; 1st Lord McGowan, Honorary President, ICI (Imperial Chemical Industries Limited); Robert MacKenna, WSC's dermatologist; Harry S Truman; Walter Nash, Leader of the Opposition, New Zealand (2); Sir Henry Morris-Jones, Chairman, National Liberal Conference (2); Sir Owen Morshead, Librarian, Windsor Castle [Berkshire] on the Oscar Nemon bust of WSC; Oscar Nemon (3); John Graham [Assistant Private Secretary to the Foreign Secretary]; Sir Ralph Verney, Secretary to the Speaker of the House of Commons (2); Drew Middleton, Chief Correspondent, New York Times; Jean Medecin, Mayor of Nice [France]; Anthony Rumbold [Counsellor] British Embassy, Paris; Nigel Steward, British Consul-General, Nice; Derek Walker-Smith [later 1st Lord Broxbourne, Chairman, 1922 Committee] on invitations to WSC (9); Charles Norman (2); Christopher Chavasse, Bishop of Rochester, Kent; "Pug" [1st Lord Ismay], Secretary-General of NATO; John Priestman [Assistant Private Secretary to the Foreign Secretary]; "Top" [3rd Lord Selborne, earlier Lord Wolmer] former Minister of Economic Warfare, on the Norwegian Resistance Group club (2); Sir Colin Gubbins, former head of SOE, on the Norwegian club; Sir Anthony Nutting (2). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence by Anthony Montague Browne, John Colville, Gwen Davies, David Pitblado, Christopher Soames, David Hunt, Peter Oates and Sir Anthony Bevir, WSC's Private Secretaries, and Elizabeth Gilliatt, Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel] and Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], WSC's secretaries.Also includes: photographs of WSC at the Lord Mayor's Banquet and on a visit to the Guildhall [London] with Princess Elizabeth [later Queen Elizabeth II] and Prince Philip [Duke of Edinburgh]; material on the Clergy Rest House; text of Lord McGowan's speech to the Australian Institute of Public Affairs, on human relations in industry; material on the portraits of Alfred Jonniaux; photographs of WSC's Nobel Prize for Literature diploma.


  • 26 Nov 1951 - 06 Apr 1955

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (314 loose folios))

Language of Materials