Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Political: Correspondence G (mainly thanking WSC following the 1950 election)., Jan 1950 - Dec 1950

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/97

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: George Christ of Conservative and Unionist Central Office on British war debt; David Gammans on appealing to skilled craftsmen and colonial policy (2); Patrick Donner; Gwilym Lloyd George [later 1st Lord Tenby]; Eveline Hill; John Rodgers; Mervyn Wheatley; Cyril Osborne; Douglas Clifton Brown [later 1st Lord Ruffside, Speaker of the House of Commons]; [Robert] Thorp; "Hinch" [Lord Hinchingbrooke, later 10th Lord Sandwich and Victor Montagu]; Geoffrey Stevens; Priscilla, Lady Tweedsmuir [earlier Lady Grant]; Antony Head; [Margaret] Patricia Hornsby-Smith; John Arbuthnot; Fitzroy Maclean; Henry Channon; Sir George Jeffreys; Godfrey Nicholson; Frank Medlicott; Edwin Leather; [George] Burnaby Drayson; Gerald Wills; Maurice Webb [Minister of Food] on his absence from the House of Commons; Sir Harold Webbe; John Maitland; Samuel Storey [later Lord Buckton]; Hendrie Oakshott; Sir Harold Roper; Robert Ryder; Ralph Clarke; Beresford Craddock; David Llewellyn; Harold Watkinson; Henry Studholme; Gerald Williams; Lionel Heald; Geoffrey Hirst; Arthur Colegate; Sir Anthony Nutting; Douglas Marshall; Percy Lucas; Charles Taylor; Tufton Beamish [later Lord Chelwood]; Ronald Russell; Toby Low [later 1st Lord Aldington]; Sir Ronald Cross; John Morrison [later 1st Lord Margadale]; Sir Peter Roberts; Norman Hulbert; John Smyth; Henry Hopkinson [later 1st Lord Colyton]; Alan Gomme-Duncan; Katherine Wilmot; Sir Robert Cary; Nigel Fisher; Frederick Erroll; Hamilton Kerr; Pieter Gerbrandy [former Prime Minister of the Netherlands] on a memorandum by Admiral Conrad Helfrich [former Commander-in-Chief, Royal Netherlands Navy] on the Malay barrier; Ralph Glyn (5); Marjorie Maxse [Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party] (3); Edgar Granville; Dorothy, Lady Hume; Joseph Grimond. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow], Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], and Elizabeth Gilliatt.Other subjects include: the election campaign; the position of Granville and co-operation with the Liberals; the situation in Greenwich constituency [London].Also includes: Gammans' and Cary's election addresses; articles by Gammans; details of successful Conservative and Conservative supported MPs; pamphlets on Transylvania [Romania]; copies of an election message from WSC.


  • Creation: Jan 1950 - Dec 1950

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (129 loose folios))

Language of Materials



Cultural context


Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087