Skip to main content

Public and Political: General: Political: Council of Europe correspondence and papers., May 1950 - Feb 1951

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/76A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Prime Minister Clement Attlee (8); Duncan Sandys (2); Harold Macmillan [later 1st Lord Stockton] (7); Priscilla, Lady Tweedsmuir [earlier Lady Grant]; Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi; Erich Ollenhauer, German Socialist; Robert Boothby; Paul-Henri Spaak, President of the Council of Europe. Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from secretaries Lettice Marston [later Lettice Shillingford], Elizabeth Gilliatt, Chips Gemmell, and Jane Portal [later Lady Williams of Elvel].Subjects include: selecting Conservative representatives and substitutes for the Consultative Assembly of the Council; proposals for a European broadcasting service; the Schuman Plan; the position of Germany; arrangements for the August 1950 session; the creation of a European Army.Also includes copies of: statement by Attlee; Conservative Research Department papers, including a memorandum by Boothby; information for UK delegates to the August 1950 session; Council material; letter to the Times by Lord Hinchingbrooke [later 10th Lord Sandwich and Victor Montagu]; pamphlet by Andre Philip on socialism and European union; reports of press conferences by Sean MacBride [President, Council of Foreign Ministers of Council of Europe] and Spaak; text of a speech by Boothby; Reuters' summaries; Council motion by WSC; "Strasbourg [France] Papers"; European Assembly debate summaries.


  • Creation: May 1950 - Feb 1951

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 files (277 loose folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087