Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Public and Political: General: Political: correspondence A-G., Jul 1945 - Dec 1945

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 2/1A-B

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: 1st Lord Swinton [earlier Philip Lloyd Greame and Philip Cunliffe Lister] (3); Richard Poland [Private Secretary to Minister of Civil Aviation]; E Colston Shepherd, Secretary-General of the Air League of the British Empire; Sir George Harvie Watt (4); John Winant [United States Ambassador to the United Kingdom]; Randolph Churchill; Leo Amery on imperial preference and European unity (2); Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe, Chairman of the Conservative Party] (7); representatives of Conservative and Unionist Central Office, including Dorothy Spencer and General Director, Stephen Pierssene (16); Arthur Bateman; Vernon Bartlett; Alfred Bossom; James Stuart [Chief Opposition Whip] (4); R A Butler on the docks; 1st Lord Lyle of Westbourne; representatives of Cable and Wireless Limited, including its President Sir Edward Wilshaw, on the nationalisation of commonwealth communications services (5); Patrick Buchan Hepburn [later 1st Lord Hailes, Conservative Deputy Chief Whip] on the budget debate; [Alfred] Ernest Marples; James Thomas [later 1st Lord Cilcennin, Vice-Chairman of Conservative and Unionist Party]; Alfred Duff Cooper [later 1st Lord Norwich, British Ambassador to France] on French politics (3); "Bobbety", Lord Cranborne [earlier Robert Gascoyne Cecil, later 5th Lord Salisbury] (3); 1st Lord Croft on the Ceylon [later Sri Lanka] constitution; Sir Ian Fraser; "Buck", [9th] Lord De La Warr [earlier Herbrand Sackville] on his joining the Conservative Party (2); Henry Willink and Sir Bernard Docker on the British Hospitals Association; Eric Gandar Dower; Sir George Franckenstein on the South Tyrol [Italy]; Robert Boothby sending on a note on the interrogation of General Franz Halder and Field Marshal Karl von Rundstedt; George Papandreou [former Prime Minister of Greece] on communist insurgency (2). Also includes notes and copies of correspondence from: secretaries Elizabeth Gilliatt, Kathleen Hill, Jo Sturdee ("N S") [later Lady Onslow], and Elizabeth Layton; and Prime Minister's Private Secretaries Leslie Rowan and John Colville; and from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to Brendan Bracken.Other subjects include: civil aviation policy; United States' loans; 1945 election; matters concerning by-elections, including WSC endorsing candidates; tax policy; the voting of Conservative MPs on various issues; the new Conservatives MPs' dinner; demobilisation.Also includes: comments by Conservative Agriculture Committee; copy of a speech by Leo Amery; Conservative Party material, including copies of election addresses by Assheton and Gandar Dower, WSC's policy for 1945 election, "Socialist election promises", lists of marginal seats, and analyses of election results; cutting from the Evening Standard; report of speeches at the Conservative Candidates' Conference; pamphlet on the Dog and Duck Circle; paper entitled "The tragedy of Yugoslavia"; appeal signed by Franckenstein, Sir Ernest Barker, Sir John Clapham, and Friedrich Hayek and pamphlet on the Tyrol.


  • Jul 1945 - Dec 1945

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 files (393 loose folios))

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.