Skip to main content

Personal: Family etc.: Knight of the Garter: Congratulations., 24 Apr 1953 - 21 May 1953

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHUR 1/53

Scope and Contents

Correspondents congratulating WSC on becoming a Knight of the Garter include: 4th Lord Abergavenny [earlier Guy Larnach-Nevill]; 12th Lord Airlie [earlier Lord Ogilvy], and Bridget, Lady Airlie; "Jimmy" [17th Duke of Alba]; 1st Lord Altrincham [earlier Sir Edward Grigg]; 1st Lord Waverley [earlier Sir John Anderson]; Lavinia, Lady Annaly; Ralph Assheton [later 1st Lord Clitheroe]; Nancy, Lady Astor; Clement Attlee and Violet Attlee; 1st Lord Baillieu; Princess Marthe Bibesco; Margaret, Lady Birkenhead [earlier Margaret Smith]; "Sunny", Lord Blandford [later 11th Duke of Marlborough], and Susan, Lady Blandford; Lady Violet Bonham Carter [earlier Violet Asquith and Violet, Lady Bonham Carter, later Lady Asquith of Yarnbury]; Alfred Bossom; 1st Lord Bracken; Ivy Brassey, earlier Ivy Spencer; 1st Lord Brookeborough [earlier Sir Basil Brooke, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland]; Manlio Brosio, Italian Ambassador to Great Britain; 1st Lord Bruce of Melbourne; 1st Lord Bruntisfield [earlier Sir Victor Warrender]; Margaret, Duchess of Buccleuch [earlier Margaret, Lady Dalkeith]; George Christ; George Churchill; Lord Ivor Churchill; John Colville and Lady Margaret Colville; 6th Lord Clarendon [earlier Lord Hyde]; 2nd Lord Cromer [earlier Lord Errington] and Ruby, Lady Cromer [earlier Ruby, Lady Errington]; Domini, Lady Crosfield; Clement Danes; William Deakin; Lady Caroline Duff and Sir Michael Duff; Lady Juliet Duff; Sir Thomas Dunhill; Charles Eade; Douglas Fairbanks [junior]; Daisy Fellowes [earlier Daisy, Princesse de Broglie]; Sir Hugh Foot [later Lord Caradon], Governor of Jamaica; Roger Frewen; Oswald Frewen; Jean, Lady Furse; Sir Alexander Gibb; Sir Hubert Gough; Amy Guest; King Haakon of Norway; Mildred, Lady Hailsham; Sir William Haley; "Bomber Harris" [Sir Arthur Harris]; Herbert Haseltine; Sir Roger Hawkey; Sir Cuthbert Headlam; Sir Alfred Herbert; Sir Leslie Hollis; Sir Richard Hopkins; 5th Lord Howe [earlier Lord Curzon]; Mary, Lady Howe; Dame Mary Hughes; 1st Lord Ironside, and Mariot, Lady Ironside; 1st Lord Jeffreys; Sir Roderick Jones; 1st Lord Kemsley [earlier James Berry]; 1st Lord Kenilworth [earlier John Siddeley]; Shri Kher, High Commissioner for India in London; Sir Alexander King; Robert Laycock and Angela Laycock; 1st Lord Leathers; Frederick Lister; Gwilym Lloyd George [later 1st Lord Tenby] and Edna Lloyd George; 1st Lord Lyle of Westbourne; 1st Lord Marchwood [earlier Frederick Penny]; Douglas Marshall; Rene Massigli [French Ambassador to Great Britain]; Sir Harold Mitchell and Mary, Lady Mitchell (2); 1st Lord Montgomery of Alamein; Sir Philip Morris, Vice-Chancellor of Bristol University; Sir Clive Morrison-Bell; 5th Lord Munster [earlier Geoffrey FitzClarence]; Irene Noel-Baker; 1st Lord Oaksey [3rd Lord Trevethin, earlier Geoffrey Lawrence]; Tom O'Brien; Sir Laurence Olivier and Vivien, Lady Olivier [earlier Vivien Leigh]; John Peck [former Assistant Private Secretary to WSC]; 15th Lord Pembroke [earlier Lord Herbert], and Beatrice, Lady Pembroke [earlier Beatrice, Lady Herbert]; Gladys, Lady Phillips; Mabel, Lady Plender; Odette Pol Roger; Prince Frederick of Prussia and Princess Frederick of Prussia [later parts of Germany and Poland]; John Priestman [Assistant Private Secretary to the Foreign Secretary]; 2nd Lady Ravensdale; Louis St Laurent [Prime Minister of Canada]; Elizabeth, Lady Salisbury [earlier Elizabeth, Lady Cranborne]; Sir Geoffrey Shakespeare; Christopher Soames and Mary Soames [earlier Mary Churchill]; Jo Sturdee [later Lady Onslow, former Secretary to WSC]; 5th Duke of Sutherland [earlier Lord Stafford]; "Tommy" [Charles Thompson]; [George] Peter Thorneycroft; 1st Lord Thurso [earlier Sir Archibald Sinclair]; Sir Hugh Tudor; Sir James Turner, [later 1st Lord Netherthorpe] President, National Farmers' Union; Charles Waterhouse, President, East Midlands Area, National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations; Florence, Lady Wedgwood; 16th Lady Wentworth; Lord Willoughby de Broke [earlier John Verney] and Rachel, Lady Willoughby de Broke; Eric Hamilton, Dean of Windsor; "Bendor", 2nd Duke of Westminster; 1st Lord Woolton [earlier Frederick Marquis]; [?] John Howard.


  • Creation: 24 Apr 1953 - 21 May 1953

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (299 loose folios))

Language of Materials


External Documents

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087