Skip to main content

Official: Cabinet: Committee on the Report of the Royal Commission on the Coal Industry: correspondence and papers., 23 Mar 1926 - 11 May 1926

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 22/113

Scope and Contents

Includes papers by various individuals on the settlement of the coal dispute, including: 4th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne], the Lord Privy Seal; the revised draft of the Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin]'s statement to mine-owners and miners; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to WSC]; Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton] (4); Donald Fergusson [Private Secretary to WSC]; Arthur Cook, Secretary, Miners'Federation; Kenneth Lee [member of the Royal Commission]; Sir Ernest Gowers [Permanent Under-Secretary for Mines]; William Lee, Secretary, Mining Association; William Brace [Chief Labour Advisor to Department of Mines]; George Lane Fox [later 1st Lord Bingley, Secretary for Mines] (2); Evan Williams [President, Mining Association] (3); Montagu Norman [Governor, Bank of England]; Stanley Baldwin [Prime Minister]; John Forbes Watson, Director, National Confederation of Employers'Organisations; Henry Sutcliffe Smith [formerly on the Advisory Council, Board of Trade]; Henry Betterton [later 1st Lord Rushcliffe, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Labour].


  • Creation: 23 Mar 1926 - 11 May 1926

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (129 folios))

Language of Materials


External Documents

Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087