Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence and papers on liquid fuel tax proposals., 02 Jan 1928 - 31 Mar 1928

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/94

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Sir Francis Floud [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise] (7); Sir Richard Hopkins [Controller of Finance and Supply Services, Treasury]; 1st Lord Peel [1st Commissioner of Works]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Permanent Secretary, Board of Trade] (6); Edward Hale [Treasury]; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer] (3); E A Harris, Chief Inspector, Customs and Excise; Henry Tizard; Donald Fergusson [Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; Sir Robert Robertson, Government Chemist, William Bone, John Brame, Harris, Harry Ricardo, and Tizard; James Hamilton, Vice Chairman of Anglo-American Oil Company.Also includes: statistics on changes in the price of oil, and consumption and revenue; note of an interview between WSC and Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton, President of the Board of Trade] and Sir John Cadman of the Anglo-Persian Oil Company, Sir Robert Waley-Cohen of Shell Oil Company and Sir Henri Deterding of the Royal Dutch Group; papers and reports of the Government Chemist's Specification Committee, the Application Committee, and the Scientific Committee.Subjects include: details of the rating reform scheme; discussion of the level at which the fuel tax is to be levied; demand and consumption of fuel oil and gas; discussion of the tax's application to paraffin wax; uses of kerosene; lamp oil and sugar in the cottage industry.


  • Creation: 02 Jan 1928 - 31 Mar 1928

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (160 loose folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087