Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence mainly from WSC and James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer] to government ministers, senior civil servants, MPs and Lords (carbon copies)., 04 Jan 1928 - 27 Dec 1928

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/73

Scope and Contents

Recipients include: Prime Minister Stanley Baldwin (8); Harold MacMillan MP (2); 2nd Lord Revelstoke (3); Wilfrid Ashley [later 1st Lord Mount Temple, Minister of Transport]; Admiral Sir Roger Keyes; Sir Austen Chamberlain [Foreign Secretary] (3); Walter Guinness [later 1st Lord Moyne, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries] (3); Sir Richard Hopkins [Controller of Finance and Supply Services, Treasury]; Lord Eustace Percy [President of the Board of Education] (2); Ernest Pretyman; 2nd Lord Hamilton of Dalzell [Jockey Club Steward]; First Lord of the Admiralty, William Bridgeman (5); Financial Secretary to the Treasury [Arthur Samuel, later 1st Lord Mancroft]; Raymond Poincare [French Prime Minister]; Sir Gilbert Wills [later 1st Lord Dulverton]; Sir Alexander Sprot MP; Geoffrey Dawson [Editor of the Times]; Leo Amery [Secretary of State for the Colonies] (6); Home Secretary, Sir William Joynson Hicks [later 1st Lord Brentford] on borstals; Oswald Mosley MP; 1st Lord Craigavon [earlier Sir James Craig, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland] (2); Attorney-General [until March 1928] and Lord Chancellor [from March 1928], Sir Douglas Hogg [later 1st Lord Hailsham] (3); Neville Chamberlain [Minister of Health] (4); Sir John Anderson [later 1st Lord Waverley, Permanent Under-Secretary of State, Home Office]; 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith, Secretary of State for India]; Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton, President of the Board of Trade] (2); Sir Joseph Nall MP; Postmaster-General, Sir William Mitchell-Thomson [later 1st Lord Selsdon] on telegraph and telephone services; King George V (2); Sir Laming Worthington-Evans [Secretary of State for War] (3); Sir Arthur Duckham; Director of Public Prosecutions [Sir Archibald Bodkin] (2); John Maynard Keynes; Sir Harry Batterbee [Assistant Secretary, Dominions Office] and William Cosgrave [President of the Executive Council of the Irish Free State, later Eire/Ireland] (2) on changes to Irish coinage; Sir John St George; John Davidson [Conservative Party Chairman]; 1st Lord Inchcape [earlier James Mackay] (3); 1st Lord Younger of Leckie; Sir Henry Buckingham; Civil Lord of the Admiralty, 7th Lord Stanhope; Secretary of State for Air, Sir Samuel Hoare [later 1st Lord Templewood]; Sir Stephenson Kent; Sir Robert Lynn; Sir Arthur Steel-Maitland [Minister of Labour].Also includes copy of letter from Cunliffe-Lister.Subjects covered by the file include: matters concerning the proposed rating reform and the inclusion of the railways and the gas industry in the scheme; reducing the national debt; agricultural matters; French and Indian war debt; various tax and duty matters; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; recommendations for honours.


  • Creation: 04 Jan 1928 - 27 Dec 1928

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (215 loose folios))

Language of Materials