Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Official: Treasury: WSC's minutes., 19 Jan 1927 - 30 Jun 1927

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/45A-B

Scope and Contents

Includes carbon copies of minutes and letters from WSC to various individuals, mainly Treasury officials, including: Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance]; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services]; Alfred Hurst; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; Sir Laming Worthington-Evans [Secretary of State for War]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet]; Donald Fergusson [Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; Sir Russell Scott [Controller]; Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin]; Financial Secretary [Ronald McNeill, later 1st Lord Cushendun]; Edward Marsh [Private Secretary to WSC]; Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary]; Frederick Leith-Ross [Deputy Controller of Finance].Subjects include: the British film industry; various tax and duty matters; the national debt; the road fund; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces, and details of expenditure; war graves; civil service matters; the effect of changes in the franchise; afforestation; trade with the Soviet Union; the price of matches; the cost of operations in China; the economic situation in Germany and France; company law; reducing the rates; budgetary matters.


  • 19 Jan 1927 - 30 Jun 1927

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 bound files (203 folios))

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.