Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence mainly from WSC and James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer] (carbon copies)., 12 Jul 1927 - 21 Dec 1927

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/44

Scope and Contents

Recipients include: the Lord Chancellor, 1st Lord Cave, on civil service disciplinary regulations; King George V on House of Commons business (3); John Gretton MP; Edwin Konstam, Sir Frederick Liddell [1st Parliamentary Counsel], Reginald Hills [Junior Counsel to Inland Revenue], and Sir John Shaw [Solicitor of Inland Revenue] on serving on a committee on income tax law; Sir Laming Worthington-Evans [Secretary of State for War] (2); Joseph Kenworthy MP [later 10th Lord Strabolgi]; 7th Lord Londonderry [earlier Lord Castlereagh]; Secretary of State for India, 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith] (4) including one on the Indian war contribution; Reginald McKenna [Chairman of Midland Bank Limited]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet] (3); Sir Austen Chamberlain [Foreign Secretary] (3); Prime Minister, Stanley Baldwin (4); First Lord of the Admiralty, William Bridgeman, (8) including one on the Dorsetshire; Sir Robert Lynn MP; Katharine, Duchess of Atholl [Parliamentary Secretary, Board of Education]; Sir Ernest Gowers [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue] (2); Neville Chamberlain [Minister of Health] (4); Sir Douglas Hogg [later 1st Lord Hailsham, Attorney-General] (2); [Fanny Lucy], Lady Houston (2); the Editor of the Times [Geoffrey Dawson]; John Davidson [Conservative Party Chairman]; Sir Arthur Steel-Maitland [Minister of Labour]; 4th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne, Lord Privy Seal]; 21st Lord Clinton on afforestation (2); Sir Arthur Duckham; ?Douglas Veale [Private Secretary to the Minister of Health]; Bolton Eyres-Monsell [Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury]; Secretary of State for Air [Sir Samuel Hoare, later 1st Lord Templewood]; 1st Lord Bradbury, Sir Laurence Halsey, Sir Harry Haward, Sidney Peel, and Sir William Schooling on the Committee on Municipal Savings Banks; Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton, President of the Board of Trade]; Home Secretary [Sir William Joynson Hicks, later 1st Lord Brentford] on greyhound racing and betting tax; [14th] Lord Lovat; Edward, the Prince of Wales [later King Edward VIII and the Duke of Windsor].Subjects covered by the file include: various measures to reduce government spending; various tax and duty matters; various banking matters; naval construction; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; the future of the cavalry.


  • Creation: 12 Jul 1927 - 21 Dec 1927

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (147 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087