Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence., 11 Dec 1926 - 30 Apr 1927

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/41

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Thomas Jones [Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet] and Sir Frank Heath [Secretary to the Advisory Council for Scientific and Industrial Research] on French liquid fuel; Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue] (3), Cornelius Gregg [Inland Revenue] (2), and F A Lindemann [later 1st Lord Cherwell] (3) on income tax rates; Sir Harry Goschen (2); James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer] (5); Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; Leo Amery [Secretary of State for the Dominions] (3); Ronald McNeill [Financial Secretary, Treasury, later 1st Lord Cushendun] (2); 4th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne, Lord Privy Seal] (4) on subjects including his tax position and the Pensions Committee; 1st Lord Colwyn [earlier Sir Frederick Smith]; Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance, Treasury] (2); Frederick Phillips [Assistant Secretary, Treasury]; 1st Lord Midleton; Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary, Treasury].Also includes copy letters from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to 1st Lord Bradbury and Sir Laming Worthington-Evans [Secretary of State for War]; National Provincial Bank AGM brochure; graphs by Lindemann and the Inland Revenue.Other subjects include: the Chinese military situation; the Block Grants Committee; trade with the Soviet Union; various tax and duty matters; restricting imports; various matters concerning the Budget; road building; cavalry expenditure.


  • Creation: 11 Dec 1926 - 30 Apr 1927

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (115 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087