Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: Budget 1927-1928: Treasury memoranda and tables, used in the production of the Budget., 1926 - 1927

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/40

Scope and Contents

Includes memoranda, notes, and letters from individuals, mainly Treasury officials, including: Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary]; Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; Ralph Hawtrey [Director of Financial Enquiries]; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; William Brown [Private Secretary to the President of the Board of Trade]; Alfred Hurst; Sir Sydney Chapman [Permanent Secretary, Board of Trade]; Rupert Howorth, Secretary to the Standing Committee on Expenditure; Cornelius Gregg; 1st Lord Stamfordham [earlier Sir Arthur Bigge, Private Secretary to King George V].Also includes notes and copy letters from WSC to some of those mentioned above and to Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin]; copy of a speech by the Chairman of Midland Bank Limited, Reginald McKenna, on British and American bank deposits; an article by John Maynard Keynes responding to McKenna; extracts from Committee reports; press cuttings; copy of WSC's budget financial statement.


  • Creation: 1926 - 1927

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 soft bound file in a wallet (245 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087