Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence mainly from WSC (carbon copies)., 10 Jan 1926 - 21 Dec 1926

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/29

Scope and Contents

Recipients include: President of the Board of Trade, Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton] (3); F Stanley Jackson [Chairman of the Conservative and Unionist Party]; Count Guiseppe Volpi [Italian Minister of Finance] (2); Wilfrid Ashley [later 1st Lord Mount Temple, Minister of Transport] (2); Sir Robert Horne [later 1st Lord Slamannan]; Leo Amery [Secretary of State for the Colonies] (4); Sir James Craig [later 1st Lord Craigavon, Prime Minister of Northern Ireland] on the Northern Irish unemployment fund; Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary, Treasury]; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services, Treasury]; Financial Secretary, Treasury [Ronald McNeill, later 1st Lord Cushendun]; Sir Austen Chamberlain [Foreign Secretary] (3) including one on Iraq and Turkey; Paul Doumer and Raoul Peret [French Ministers of Finance]; First Lord of the Admiralty, William Bridgeman (2); Air-Marshal Sir Hugh Trenchard [Chief of the Air Staff]; 1st Lord Haldane; Philip Snowden; George Gibbs [later 1st Lord Wraxall]; Sir Arthur Steel-Maitland [Minister of Labour]; J Ellis Barker; Neville Chamberlain [Minister of Health] (5); Sir William Joynson Hicks [later 1st Lord Brentford, Home Secretary]; 4th Lord Salisbury [earlier Lord Cranborne, Lord Privy Seal]; George Tryon [Minister of Pensions] (2); ?Colonel Wallace Wright; Sir Laming Worthington-Evans [Secretary of State for War] (2); Attorney-General, Sir Douglas Hogg [later 1st Lord Hailsham] (2); ?Captain Jocelyn Hardy; Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Ronald Water House [Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister]; Sir Alfred Watson [Government Actuary]; 18th Lord St John; 1st Lord Bearsted [earlier Sir Marcus Samuel]; Speaker of the House of Commons [John Whitley]; Sir Frederic Wise; Sir Alfred Mond [later 1st Lord Melchett]; Sir Eric Geddes; George Lambton on the betting tax; Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin] (4); Edward Marsh [Private Secretary to WSC]; Chairman, Parliamentary Press Gallery [?Peter Roberts]; Lord Carson; Edward Cadogan MP; Alfred Hurst [Treasury]; Sir John Gilmour [Secretary for Scotland]; 1st Lord Stamfordham [earlier Sir Arthur Bigge, Private Secretary to King George V]; the Portuguese Ambassador to the United Kingdom; Sir George Jeffreys; Robert Boothby [Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith, Secretary of State for India] on Indian financial matters; Walter Guinness [later 1st Lord Moyne, Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries]; 7th Lord Londonderry [earlier Lord Castlereagh]; Joseph Coates [Prime Minister of New Zealand] (3); Stanley Bruce [Prime Minister of Australia]; King George V on the subject of death duty on the estate of the late Queen Alexandra.Other subjects include: various tax and duty matters; inter-allied debt; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; examples of colonial expenditure; road finance; social insurance matters, including pensions; war graves; civil service matters; press reporting of Treasury business; various matters concerning the coal strike, including the situation in Scotland.Also includes: a copy letter from Sir Maurice Hankey, Secretary to the Cabinet, dated 24 April 1929.


  • Creation: 10 Jan 1926 - 21 Dec 1926

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file and 1 folder (166 folios))

1 folder(s) (1 bound file and 1 folder (166 folios))

Language of Materials